Icelandic Christmas Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
At first I was only going to give this 3 stars because it was crumbly... But then I refrigerated it and it sliced wonderfully. It must be completely cool or you will have a mess. Nice flavor - I increased the lemon to 1 tsp, personal preferance. My husband loved it, so I guess I'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This is a good recipe, however, lacks a little something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jalexandropoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sitka, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Very Lemony and Moist. I did the cardamon powder. The extract can be found in large INDIAN stores as I am going to travel next week to get. I am going to try orange peels next time. I was pleased with cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Litchfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
Wonderful cake! I was just in Iceland and had a cake very similar. Thanks for sharing! One tip: don't worry about trying to track down cardamom extract - just use 1/2 tsp cardamom powder instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
This made the house smell wonderful! I didn't have lemon flavouring so I added orange zest. Also had only cardamon spice so followed what others did there. Comfort load for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
This was fantastic! I don't usually review sweets, but this was so good I couldn't help myself. Made out of stuff I already have on hand and so tasty. A real nice cake. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This cake is delicious, tastes just like Christmas cake should! However, we cannot find an 11 inch pan, used a standard 9 inch and cooked it a little longer. Still had a gooey center but we ate it anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TGR
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Very nice. I ground some cardamom just before adding it. And instead of using dried fruits I just added a handful of roasted almond pieces. The batter tasted very lemony, but I couldn't taste much of the lemon after baking. I think next time I will just leave out the lemon and substitute vanilla instead. Took about 1 hour and 20 minutes to bake to a moist consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
I wanted muffins, so I added a 1/2 t. more baking powder and added milk until the consistency was a little less thick than the original recipe made. I also used currants soaked in tea instead of raisins. They came out perfect. The flavor is unique and delicate. It was just what I was looking for, something light, refreshing and different than your usual muffin fare. I would use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
Very good, I used 1 tsp of ground cardamom since I couldn't find the extract and next time I will add 1 tsp of the lemon extract. Very easy to make and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATWALK16

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States