Iced Tea II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2003
Try adding the sugar during the boiling stage of the water; very smooth results. Our family has made iced tea like this since I was a child.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
I didn't have the orange pekoe tea available and used regular tea bags. It turns out great...very refreshing! Great for BBQs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2001
I love iced tea, but I found this to be a little tart, like a cross between iced tea and lemonade. I would recommend reducing the amount of lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
I use 5 regular individual sized tea bags (liptons) or 3 family sized in 2qts of water. I steep for only 5 - 10 minutes. This helps the sugar dissolve easier since it is added when it is verh hot. I then add 3/4 to 1 cup of sugar and omit the lemon. Hey, I live in Southern USA, we don't call it "Sweet Tea" for nuthin'! lol! I serve with lemon slices when I have them. I have an abundance of mint out in the yard that I gather and wash and then pour the tea over a sprig of it in the summertime. Ahhhhh :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2001
I adjusted this recipe a little - I used 5 tea bags, the whole amount of sugar, and half the lemon. It was still a little too sour, so I added lots of ice cubes and a little more sugar. After this adjustment, it was really yummy - tasted like the bottled kinds you buy in the store! Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Great recipe for iced tea! I love the flavor you get from using the orange pekoe tea bags! I added 1/4 tsp. of baking soda (a little tip I picked up from another recipe to cut out the bitterness) I cut up some fresh lemons and fresh oranges and added them to the tea as well. Very refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2001
I'm a huge ice tea fan and i spend a lot of money on the powered mixes. This way is a lot better for you and it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2003
This stuff was great. I only used half the amount of lemon juice, because that was all I had, but it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMURKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2001
Easy to make. Tastes great. You can try a variation with green tea. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
great recipe, though I doubled the amount of lemon juice for my tea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Long Island Iced Tea

Watch how to make this tea-free, punch-packing alcoholic drink.

Long Island Iced Tea Cocktail

See how to make a potent cocktail that’s dangerously delicious.

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States