Iced Tea I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
This needs 1 cup of sugar added to it and it would be southern ice tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
This was easy to make but still not as good as the traditional Southern method of boiling water with sugar. Added a cup of sugar as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
well, since this recipe isn't called southern iced tea, i thought it was perfect according to ingredients. Iced tea just how i like it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Edward, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
This was a great starter recipe. I made it with green tea and it was delicious, though like others said, i added sugar. Also, instead of teabags, I used loose leaf green tea. I only added about 3/4 cup of sugar and that was just the right amount to sweeten the drink but yet still let the flavor of green tea be the key taste. Sure beats the store boughten which is overloaded with sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
This is a great recipe. If you need hot water, heat cold tap water on the stove or in a microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIE99901

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
Being from the south, iced tea is a must with every meal as rice is with Chinese food. I don't think I have ever been able to brew tea with just hot tap water. I have had to boil it somehow...either in the microwave or on the stove. I have never heard of lead poisoning through hot tap water as the previous reviewer mentioned, but I thank you Rosie for that peice of info. This is a very basic way of making iced tea and I don't think it matters how you get your water hot, your tea will taste the same. Unless you go the southern way and let it sit in the sun all day! Eight tea bags is good for a large pitcher, but I have also used 1 "family size" bag when I have them. Don't forget the sugar, I add it right after the water has boiled so it dissolves instantly. Thanks for this simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
Make it all the time this way...easy and it works. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
Perfect, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
I didn't find this iced tea all that different from the normal iced tea I usually have. I added a quarter cup of sugar to it which made for just the right amount of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
I've been making iced tea this way for a long time, however I only use 4 teabags and I only steep it 4 minutes. It comes out perfect every time! People are always asking how I make my tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mingry77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Long Island Iced Tea

Watch how to make this tea-free, punch-packing alcoholic drink.

Long Island Iced Tea Cocktail

See how to make a potent cocktail that’s dangerously delicious.

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States