Iced-Spiced Ginger Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
These are excellent. I baked these in a jelly roll pan. The frosting does need more water. It started to firm up before I could spread it over the entire cake. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Because I used whole wheat flour, I added an extra 1/2 cup flour to make the batter a little thicker. I cut the frosting in half. These are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
These are awesome...I like to add a little orange/lemon rind...or sub juice for liquid to the frosting SO GOOD...and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I've had this recipe for years. My sister gave it to me when she lived in Jacksonville, Fl. It is a great one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
My hubby had a craving for a Spanish Bar Cake, so I thought that I would surprise him and make one. This sounded like it could taste close to the ones in the grocery store....and BOY does it! I did, however, add 2 cups of raisins, which I boiled for about 5 minutes and "sqooshed" the water out of. This is a definite keeper! VERY YUMMY!(A warning about the icing though....don't overcook it!) Next time, I will do the icing correctly, and I think I will throw on a few chopped nuts for decoration. Thank you so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
This is a wonderful recipe! Always the first dessert to go; especially good fall and winter dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
Although I expected this recipe to make something resembling cookie bars, it was really more like a spiced sheet cake -- a very tasty one at that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
This recipe was easy, and very delicious. Reminded me of ginger bread cookies. It is more of a snacking cake than a bar. It freezes very well (icing and all!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2003
Excellent!! Everyone loves this cookie! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Warning: I'm reviewing after messing with the recipe! Instead of adding the butter cold and beating everything for 2 minutes, I melted the butter and stirred until combined. These were dense, spicy, cakey, and tasty. Thanks! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MollyBrook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States