Iced-Spiced Ginger Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
This is a wonderful recipe! Always the first dessert to go; especially good fall and winter dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
Although I expected this recipe to make something resembling cookie bars, it was really more like a spiced sheet cake -- a very tasty one at that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
This recipe was easy, and very delicious. Reminded me of ginger bread cookies. It is more of a snacking cake than a bar. It freezes very well (icing and all!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2003
Excellent!! Everyone loves this cookie! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
While these were very tasty and very moist, they were not "bar cookies" but rather a cake. So while I wasn't disapointed with the taste of them, I was disapointed that they were not cookies since I was making them for a holiday cookie exchange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
My hubby had a craving for a Spanish Bar Cake, so I thought that I would surprise him and make one. This sounded like it could taste close to the ones in the grocery store....and BOY does it! I did, however, add 2 cups of raisins, which I boiled for about 5 minutes and "sqooshed" the water out of. This is a definite keeper! VERY YUMMY!(A warning about the icing though....don't overcook it!) Next time, I will do the icing correctly, and I think I will throw on a few chopped nuts for decoration. Thank you so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
These are excellent. I baked these in a jelly roll pan. The frosting does need more water. It started to firm up before I could spread it over the entire cake. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
These are awesome...I like to add a little orange/lemon rind...or sub juice for liquid to the frosting SO GOOD...and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Very moist, very tasty. The browned butter icing is perfect. I made it in a 9 x 13 pan and adjusted the cooking time. I will make these again, but I may add more ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I didn't find that I needed to add any extra water to the icing. I actually had to add some extra icing sugar. When it was all done, it got a huge smile of approval from my husband. It's a good way to use up the leftover coffee since neither one of us are coffee drinkers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States