Iced-Spiced Ginger Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I've had this recipe for years. My sister gave it to me when she lived in Jacksonville, Fl. It is a great one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
These are more cake-like than bars, but taste great. The frosting is super yummy, but I let it sit about two minutes and it hardened up pretty quickly...never even felt it needed extra water as the directions mention.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Soooooooo good! I doubled the spices (which I always seem to do) and the turned out fantastic. Everybody loved them. Thank you for a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Warning: I'm reviewing after messing with the recipe! Instead of adding the butter cold and beating everything for 2 minutes, I melted the butter and stirred until combined. These were dense, spicy, cakey, and tasty. Thanks! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MollyBrook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Because I used whole wheat flour, I added an extra 1/2 cup flour to make the batter a little thicker. I cut the frosting in half. These are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I didn't find that I needed to add any extra water to the icing. I actually had to add some extra icing sugar. When it was all done, it got a huge smile of approval from my husband. It's a good way to use up the leftover coffee since neither one of us are coffee drinkers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Very moist, very tasty. The browned butter icing is perfect. I made it in a 9 x 13 pan and adjusted the cooking time. I will make these again, but I may add more ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
These are awesome...I like to add a little orange/lemon rind...or sub juice for liquid to the frosting SO GOOD...and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
These are excellent. I baked these in a jelly roll pan. The frosting does need more water. It started to firm up before I could spread it over the entire cake. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
My hubby had a craving for a Spanish Bar Cake, so I thought that I would surprise him and make one. This sounded like it could taste close to the ones in the grocery store....and BOY does it! I did, however, add 2 cups of raisins, which I boiled for about 5 minutes and "sqooshed" the water out of. This is a definite keeper! VERY YUMMY!(A warning about the icing though....don't overcook it!) Next time, I will do the icing correctly, and I think I will throw on a few chopped nuts for decoration. Thank you so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States