Iced-Spiced Ginger Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
This is a wonderful recipe! Always the first dessert to go; especially good fall and winter dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
Although I expected this recipe to make something resembling cookie bars, it was really more like a spiced sheet cake -- a very tasty one at that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
These are excellent. I baked these in a jelly roll pan. The frosting does need more water. It started to firm up before I could spread it over the entire cake. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
These are awesome...I like to add a little orange/lemon rind...or sub juice for liquid to the frosting SO GOOD...and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Because I used whole wheat flour, I added an extra 1/2 cup flour to make the batter a little thicker. I cut the frosting in half. These are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
My hubby had a craving for a Spanish Bar Cake, so I thought that I would surprise him and make one. This sounded like it could taste close to the ones in the grocery store....and BOY does it! I did, however, add 2 cups of raisins, which I boiled for about 5 minutes and "sqooshed" the water out of. This is a definite keeper! VERY YUMMY!(A warning about the icing though....don't overcook it!) Next time, I will do the icing correctly, and I think I will throw on a few chopped nuts for decoration. Thank you so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
This recipe was easy, and very delicious. Reminded me of ginger bread cookies. It is more of a snacking cake than a bar. It freezes very well (icing and all!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2003
Excellent!! Everyone loves this cookie! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I've had this recipe for years. My sister gave it to me when she lived in Jacksonville, Fl. It is a great one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Warning: I'm reviewing after messing with the recipe! Instead of adding the butter cold and beating everything for 2 minutes, I melted the butter and stirred until combined. These were dense, spicy, cakey, and tasty. Thanks! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MollyBrook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States