Ice for Cocktails Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I don't drink cocktails but wanted to try this anyway. I tasted one and it stuck to my tongue. Then when I tried to pull it off my tongue, it stuck to my fingers. Then I added it to my hot tea and it disappeared, just like that, gone. Is this a magic trick or a recipe? Thanks for posting but I'll stick to milk in my tea next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Very cold with a neutral flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Grace
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I was thinking ahead and doubled this batch for a party. Measurement calculating was tricky but I think I got it just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifermo

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Awesome recipe! I have used these in lemonade, soda, even fruit juice! It did not go well in my hot chocolate though... cooled the whole thing down and made it watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicksjuzunk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Or just use a Culligan R.O. Ive only wanted filtered water for cocktails for years. Once you get spoiled, it's hard to go back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Perfect! I also added a touch of food coloring for various holidays. Green cubes in a gin & tonic during St Patty's is a refreshing alternative to beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThePurpleJoker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mastic Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Had a glass of ice water with lemon the other night with dinner and didn't finish it until after dinner, long after the ice had melted. It wasn't particularly nasty, but I found when I'm in Naples the water just doesn't taste as good as when I'm home in Wisconsin. Did not enjoy the aftertaste at all, and now I'm sold on using these ice cubes for drinks. (For other purposes, I'll continue to use the ice-maker ice, however). On this occasion I used this "recipe" to make "Mint Ice Cubes," also from this site. Nice, fresh, clean taste. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
As if I wasn't fussy enough with my cocktails. But this is a good reminder. Seems like using distilled water would eliminate the need for boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
this seems silly...a recipe for ice...but you are absolutely making a very good point. why go to the expense of making a drink and then adding flavors you don't intend with the ice? a good reminder. thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Seriously. also try distilled water. I keep food waste in my freezer (coffee grinds, onion peels, etc) and ice cubes left indefinitely taste the funk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violet_spy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Big Jamo Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender make the Big Jamo whiskey cocktail.

Red, White, and Booze Ice Pops

Celebrate Independence Day the boozy way with berry-flavored ice pops.

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States