Ice Cream Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
They were pretty good. I think it had a little too much flour in the dough and it wasn't turning out like it was supposed to. So I added a little dash of milk and it was ok. The scones came out a little flour-y tasting though. I think a little less flour and it could be great! All in all though it was a perfectly simple recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Not good. I made my own self rising flour as suggested by other reviewers and even though I used less salt than advised these were quite salty. Flavor of the ice cream did not really come through either. I added chocolate chips and that still did not help. Will not make again, but love the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This was amazing. The flavor was understated,as many reviewers mentioned. I used dulce de leche ice cream and barely tasted it. But scones don't usually have a strong flavor. I think you'd need to add some extra flavoring to pack a real punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
These were very easy to make and I used rasberry icec ream and reg enriched flour which means just use 1.5 tsp bkg pwd to make it self rising flour, next time strawnerry vanilla ice cream. . . these topped with jam or honey are perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
These were a little sweet, but for the ease of the recipe and how we ate them up, I am giving them a five. Used inexpensive vanilla ice cream. would have been great with powdered sugar on them, but I id not make them to be sweet. maybe next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gaarafangirl54
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I didnt have self-rising flour so I added baking powder to all-purpose flour. The scones came out nice & I love the idea of using ice cream as the flavor base for these cute treats. Next time I'll use Cherry Vanilla Ice Cream or Birthday cake ice cream.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gaarafangirl54

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Uniondale, New York, USA
Living In: Baldwin, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I don't keep self rising flour on hand so I made my own out of whole wheat white flour, baking powder and salt. For the ice cream, I used Turkey Hill vanilla bean ice cream (imo, the best ice cream EVER.) These were easy enough but for me, I don't think it was enough ice cream. I think it needs a quarter cup or so more and maybe a teaspoon of vanilla extract. I think these would be good with a light glaze, too. Close, but not quite there for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I couldn't believe this would work, so I tried a half recipe. No self-rising flour, so used 1.5 tsp baking powder + 1 tsp salt per cup of flour. Also, rather than cutting it in circles (more dishes and time), I lightly rolled out one big circle, and cut it in 8 like a pizza for triangle-shaped scones. It doesn't have the buttery-flakiness that I like (obviously b/c there's no butter...) but considering how ridiculously easy this is, these are great! Oh, I did add pecans and raisins - they might be boring without some sort of "extra."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
i just made theses.I will say i was suprised at the vanilla flavor,it was stong enough to taste which i wasn't sure it would be. Although,I didn't really care for the bisquits that ended up.Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
yieummy This is good .What made me try this is the beautiful blonde at first look .Loved it , he recipe that is . Well Pinkdazzi also lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by White Pines chef

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

S’more Ice Cream Pie

See how to turn a campfire classic into an amazing ice cream treat.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States