Ice Cream Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
I had some peach ice cream on hand so thought I'd give this recipe a try. The scones looked great but were very bitter. I was out of self rising flour so added salt and baking soda (didn't realize until later I hadn't used powder. I goofed this one up, so I'll give it another shot and follow directions next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
This is a great, easy recipe. I made with all natural vanilla ice cream. It made a great base scone, and I can't wait to try different flavors or adding things like blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
Easy to make, delicious, and fabulous presentation!!! I made this recipe using Banana Split Ice Cream. Dusted with powdered sugar and placed a half slice strawberry in the center. The grand finale was drizzling (including the plate) with caramel sauce or chocolate sauce. What a hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
I used vanilla ice cream, and they were wonderful!!!! I don't quite know if I used enough ice cream, though, becuase I measured it before I melted it, and it was a little trick to get into the measuring cup from the bowl. It was really sticky for me, so make sure you have plenty of flour on hand!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I think that I will try using all purpose flour so I can adjust the amount of salt...other than that it is a great recipe that is super easy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tea Cup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Yum as! And sooooooooo easy to make....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Rotorua, Bay Of Plenty, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
So easy. I had alot of fun playing with this recipe. You can substitute chocolate yogert ice cream, and add toffee/chocolate heath chips to sweeten them up. I can't wait to try this with my strawberry chocolate yogert ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
By far and away the easiest and the best recipe for scones I have found. I prefer to make this with an ice cream that has more of a plain base flavor like just vanilla or just pumpkin and add in blueberries, fruit or nuts after I make the dough. Tried making this the first time with an icecream that had a fruit ripple, but in mixing the ice cream with the flour it turned a really odd shade of pink because the ripple just disappeared. Anyways it is really good topped with cinnamon and course sugar or an oatmeal crumb topping. Very much worth your while. Recipe itself is perfect as is. Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
It was easy and fun to try, and although the scones rose nicely, I found the texture to be heavy and dense rather than light and flaky. Also, due to the amount of self-rising flour, the salt content is too high for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
These had absolutely zero flavor! I would definitely not make these again! Maybe it was the ice cream I used, but I tried it with butter pecan ice cream and I would think that would lend plenty of flavor...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

S’more Ice Cream Pie

See how to turn a campfire classic into an amazing ice cream treat.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States