Ice Cream Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I JUST MADE A BATCH OF THESE AND THEY CAME OUT PRETTY DECENT. I DID ADD A FEW THINGS ONCE THE SCONES WERE COMPLETED. #1 I ADDED WHITE CHOCOLATE CHIPS TO THE DOUGH, AND #2 ONCE BAKED AND OUT OF THE OVEN AND COOLED DOWN I ADDED SOME WHITE CHOCOLATE AND MILK CHOCOLATE DRIZZLE ACROSS THE SCONES. THEY CAME OUT LOOKING LIKE SOMETHING U COULD PURCHASE FROM STARBUCKS!! YUM VERY SWEET, BUT VERY NICE PRESENTATION FOR GET TOGETHERS AND GOOD FOR DESSERT MAYBE WITH COFFEE. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This is really easy, and the dough is extremely sticky, but I have to say that every single scone recipe I've ever made has sticky dough. That's just the way scones are. I used my Kitchen Aid mixer and used the dough hook. Although the dough did climb the hook, it was too sticky to act like regular dough, but I only added maybe 1/2 c more of flour since I expected the stickiness anyway. I kind of expected these to be more scone-like than they are--they really remind me of sweeter biscuits. Good, just not my vision of scones. I used peach ice cream and then after placing on the cookie sheet I brushed with butter extract and sprinkled with cinnamon and brown sugar. They aren't especially sweet and as other's noticed, the flavor is relatively mild, but scones (and biscuits) can be really good with jam or jelly, so I'm not worried about that part of it. Especially as this is a recipe with only two ingredients, so I'm not sure what others were expecting. I made my own self rising flour since I never have it on hand. Use 1 1/2 tspoons baking powder and 1/2 tspoons salt per cup of flour. Voila! Self rising flour. Not sure of all of the variations pple have come up on the reviews here; that's the recipe that I've always used, and it always works for me. Thanks for the recipe; it used up some of my ice cream and was fun to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
It's an easy basic recipe if you just use vanilla ice cream. Much more interesting if you add fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
These were very easy and yummy. I added a quick glaze to give it a finishing touch. I will definitely use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This turned out pretty well, despite not having self rising flour (instead I used 1 1/2 tablespoons of baking powder and 1/8 teaspoon of salt per cup of unbleached flower). It wasn't holding consistency very well so I added a little more flour. In addition, I added 2 tablespoons of vanilla extract, 1 cup of peanut butter, and about half a cup of chocolate chips. My roommates devoured them! Adding more flour made them take about 25 minutes or so in the oven (we also don't have a kitchen timer). Can't wait to try it with other ice creams!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rozamanthus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Shockingly bad results! The dough was VERY difficult to work with. They smelled delightful while they were cooking. The end result- did not taste AT ALL! Really, no flavor whatsoever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMALLI1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This is a good recipe. To make it even easier, I just mix the ingredients together and put it into a loaf pan and bake it for about 40 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. I have used butter pecan and liked the results. I am going to try vanilla next. I find that the better (premium, maybe) ice creams yield a nicer bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
YUMMY! This is So simple! I JUST made these using cookies & cream ice cream (It's all I had & I really wanted to try this-it seemed way too easy!)and made my own self-rising flour using all purpose + 1 1/2 tsp baking powder & 1/2 tsp salt per 1 cup of flour. Only addition-I brushed beaten egg white on top and sprinkled sugar (what I normally do when I make scones)except 1 scone I left just as recipe says and the other I just brushed w/ egg white, no sugar. I liked the ones w/ sugar but the best looking was w/ JUST the egg white brushed on (w/o sugar). I only did half the recipe (I wasn't sure if it would turn out) & got 9 nice sized pie-slice shaped scones. Give it a try, its FUN and EASY and tastes WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
These had absolutely zero flavor! I would definitely not make these again! Maybe it was the ice cream I used, but I tried it with butter pecan ice cream and I would think that would lend plenty of flavor...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
It was easy and fun to try, and although the scones rose nicely, I found the texture to be heavy and dense rather than light and flaky. Also, due to the amount of self-rising flour, the salt content is too high for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

S’more Ice Cream Pie

See how to turn a campfire classic into an amazing ice cream treat.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States