Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
Yum! So easy and quick to make. You can try different toppings, too, like caramel, M&Ms, peanuts, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Graham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
Fast & easy! Simple changes made it even easier. I used a foil pan, it would only hold 9-1/2 sandwiches 1-1/2 through he center of each layer for a total of 19. I used caramel filled sandwiches and put the fudge on 1st easier to spread, then the whipped topping repeated with 2nd layer and topped with sprinkles. A big hit with adults as well as the kids!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
This is delicious! Variation: Cut ice cream sandwiches in half. Dividing everything into thirds, place one-third of the cut sandwiches into a triffle bowl. Spread one-third of the whipped topping over that. Squirt on one-third of a bottle of chocolate shell topping, then sprinkle with one-third of a bag of brickle bits (toffee). Repeat layers twice more. Place in freezer. Set out about 10 minutes before serving. Not cutting necessary. Just use a large serving spoon to dip out servings! It's oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fleming Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
It was a little to rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lani76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waianae, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This was the most amazing dessert. I took it to a bar-b-q and the men raved so much that they told my husband they were coming to live with us if I would make it everyday! :) Huge hit! I did add carmel sauce in addition to the hot fudge and used extra creamy cool whip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakerdunn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This is a 4-star recipe with the following adjustments - add dry chocolate instant pudding mix to half of the Cool Whip plus 1/3 pound crushed Oreos. Use that as the middle layer and frost the top with the remaining plain Cool Whip. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Presentation was nice, but tasted like ice cream sandwiches with cool whip and fudge sauce. I think in the future I'll just hand out ice cream sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
This is a bit different than what I make. I use 19 sandwiches (Cut one ice cream sandwich in half. Place one whole and one half sandwich along short side of ungreased 9x13 inch pan. Arrange 8 sandwiches in opposite direction of pan.) I use approximately 1 cup each of hot fudge and caramel toppings plus pecans (for a pecan mudslide dessert, if desired). Another variation is to leave out the pecans and caramel; instead use 1-2 cans More Fruit Cherry Pie Filling to make it a Black Forrest dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manlius, Illinois, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This was really good! None of my family knew it was ice cream sandwiches. I crushed up oreos and mixed it in with the cool whip and put in between and on top of sandwiches. I probably would've put a layer of vanilla ice cream in between the ice cream sandwiches along with the oreos. Just to balance all the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Rigby, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Super simple. Very kid friendly dessert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States