Ice Cream Sandwich Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Fantastic dessert! Found this and needed a dessert (hostessing a family reunion followed by Bunco at my house on consecutive weeks). For the reunion, used a whole jar of the hot fudge sauce on each layer after reading other comments and it worked well. Also took the idea of nuking the sauce for 30 seconds to make the spreading easier. Layered ice cream sandwiches, fudge sauce, Cool Whip and repeated the layers. For Bunco, a layer of ice cream sandwiches, caramel topping, Heath Bar bits, Cool Whip, ice cream sandwiches, fudge topping, Cool Whip. A hit, again. The best part was that Friendly ice cream novelties were on sale at a local store-buy 2, get 3 free. The following week, Smucker's toppings were a sale item-buy 2, get 1 free. Talk about a delicious, cost effective dessert-I scored!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
So easy and so yummy! I topped with mini m&m's and and heath bar bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This dessert was so simple and so yummy! Instead of the whipped topping in between, I used a Mocha Almond Fudge ice cream :D Next time I'm going to try a Mint Chocolate Chip ice cream. The possibilities are endless with this :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I made this for my mom for mothers day, she loved it. I halved the recipe and fit it in an 8x8 baking dish. I did not top with nuts or any other candy, just the toppings were perfect for us. I'd love to try it with peanuts in the future and try and rip off a DQ Peanut Buster Parfait though :) Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
So easy! So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
It can't be a sin because I got the recipe from watching the Dugger girls do it!! If "cake" has been in freezer overnight, take it out about 20 minutes prior to serving so it isn't rock hard. We love dry roasted peanuts as a garnish but nuts are a "self-serve". Haven't served it to anyone that didn't at least think about having seconds!! Excellent dessert for any occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
O!M!G! Made this for a pot luck at work in January. People went crazy for it. We had another pot luck last week and I was going to make something different, but was told I HAVE TO make this again. I have to make 2 so everyone can have some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This was a huge hit for my 9 year olds birthday. My husband said it was the best cake he has ever had! my sister said she wants this for her bday but with Reese's peanut butter cups- made this one with crushed butterfingers on top. I have to say this is one of the easiest desserts I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Easiest recipes ever and absolutely fantastic. This is a huge hit with people of all ages! Since I love to serve this where there are kids, I don't add pecans or nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Kids love this! It's less sinful with Skinny Cow ice cream bars, fat free cool whip, and low fat chocolate fudge sauce. Butterfinger or whatever decadent bar on top, of course!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States