Ice Cream Kolacky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
complicated and I did not find them worth the time it takes to make them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
These are incredible--everyone asks for them at Christmas! Love. My only tip is to make the most out of the first time you roll the dough--the second roll-out is not nearly as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GeeJay
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I made this for a "World Cultures Day" at my daughter's school - she had "The Czech Republic". Although I felt they took a longer time than expected to prepare, I took another reviewer's advice and used French Vanilla ice cream. They turned out very tasty and one parent even told me they were her favorite dish of the day. I would consider that a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I made these and they are to me just o.k. dough need's some flavor, vanilla flavoring maybe, vanilla ice cream just not enough for the dough part, as long as you get a bite of the preserves with it o.k. Not to sure I will take the time to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I had to play around with this a bit to get it to work for me. I've made thumpbrint cookies before and had few difficulties, but this is a different type of thumbprint cookie; actually, I would argue this is more of a pastry dough and the final product makes me think of a tart or mini pie. So, I ended up putting the dough in my muffin tin and making them into pastry cups, which worked exceedingly well. Although you can get thumbprint type cookies, part of the reason it is hard is bc this dough puffs up and doesn't really keep the thumbprint. The dough itself is wonderful; I kept some back to use as a piecrust for my next fruit pie. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I love this recipe. Have been making it for years, except I use only Breyers French Vanilla Ice Cream. Gives the cookes a great flavor.Thanks for posting this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
We've used this recipe in our family for years. They are best refrigerated I think. It firms them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
These are so good. Great way for me to get rid of all my home made jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Not a lot of flavor for the all of the work that goes into them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I'm sorry but I was not at all impressed with this recipe. The taste wasn't all that great and it was a lot of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States