Ice Cream Kolacky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I thought by the other reviews, that this would be a great recipe. But mine turned out with no taste except for the jam. The dough itself was tasteless. If someone knows What I did wrong Please let me know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gettysburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Peebles, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I am not the best baker - my cookies normally go in the garbage but this recipe was amazing!!! I followed the directions and used strawberry jam for the filling. The cookies were so tasty and easy to make. I am going to make them again for my christmas party!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pyper1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This was a nice, easy to roll out dough. I used icing sugar instead of flour to roll it with. I would like to try making this with a peppermint ice cream or choc chip mint for something a little different. Over all pretty nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jowolf2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lillooet, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I made this with vanilla and mango ice creams, And I have to say the vanilla was wayy better!! I rolled it out real thin, and filled it with a coconut-icing sugar mix, and it tasted amazing!! I also made some thumbprints and filled them with orange marmalade, and that was great too. everyone requested I make them again soon! thanks for a great and easy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Festive looking cookie that tastes good and isn't too sweet! Will make every year. Cookie kind of reminds me of puff pastry...light & crispy! mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Perry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Was a hit with my father he loved them but wasnt popular with my kids which was such a shock
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Very nice ... not too sweet. I quartered the recipe coz I wanted to just sample it and i made 13 of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Like so many other reviewers, this recipe was handed down to me by my mother-in-law. I simply must make it every holiday, and occasionally throughout the year too. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I was reading all of the bad reviews. This is a polish cookie! There is not a lot of flavor to the dough so that the flavor of whatever preserve you use. I also add at least 2 tbl. of sugar to my dough. You also have to sprinkle them with powdered sugar, and a heavy duty mixer is a must! We have been eating these kolacky since I can remember and the whole family loves them. They are a tradition in our house! I can't believe that this recipe is on here! We have been making this recipe for at least 40 years, as someone else had mentioned. Except our recipe was from a clipping in the newspaper. This is the BEST kolacky recipe ever. The dough is so flaky and my family absolutely loves them. Don't let the ice cream scare you off, you only have to let it soften, not melt! A really easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
well, i picked this recipe because it looked easy and I am totally useless at baking. As predicted, I made a complete mess of this. The icecream melted all over the place and it became one big soggy mess! I don't know what I did wrong. I need to make some cookies for an exchange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Ice Cream

Learn tricks for making perfect homemade pumpkin ice cream.

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States