Ice Cream Kolacky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This is a very dry cookie, but would be good with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This was bland. I thought the ice cream would make it really good. How can you go wrong with ice cream. The 5 year old didn't like it, I didn't like it but my wife likes to dunk them in coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I should have used unsalted butter, I think they would have tasted better. These would be good served with Devonshire Creme and Tea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I had difficulty deciding how to rate this, so decided to start with 0 stars and work my way up. I loved the idea. (I was curious about the ice cream!) (+1 star). I followed this recipe to a "T", and really enjoyed making them (+1 star), and was quite surprised I did not run into any of the problems listed by other reviewers, such as spreading, messy jam, or sticky dough, or having to add exta flour or milk. Simply awesome and fun to make! (+2 stars). When they were finally in the oven, both my hubby and I were so excited. They looked good and smelled GREAT! (+1 for 5/5). I watched them like a hawk because of others having trouble with baking all the way through. Not the case here. They turned out evenly browned and baked through (an added plus in my book when I can accomplish what others can't) (+1 for 6/5). And very fluffy and nice (+1 for 7/5). BUT When they cooled and were tasted, all the excitement dissipated quickly. They were quite bland(-3 for 4/5) -- until we added the icing sugar, which is not listed in the ingredients and should be. (-1 for 3/5) Not sure we will waste ice cream or money for this again. And for the calorie-wise -- 504 calores for 3 cookies?! That's almost 164 calories per cookie without the confectioners' sugar. Whipping cream and sugar (or maybe even Cool Whip?) might even be better -- at least it will be cheaper. Cool idea, though (No pun intended) -- and I'm always up for experimentation.:D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparkytoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Very good flavor, but not soft and fluffy like mom's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I hope this is helpful to those trying this for the first time. This is a pastry and should be made with butter-not margerine-or spreads. Butter is from cream, margerine is from soybean or corn oil and a spread contains up to 50% water. There is a huge difference in using butter vs. margerine, and an even bigger difference if you use a spread. The success of this recipe depends on using butter. Those reviews that recommend adding more flour are likely not using butter and are also likely to have a tougher pastry as a result of adding more flour. This recipe is perfect as written and these pastries will melt in your mouth if you make them as directed. Refrigeration will firm up the dough so you can cut out your pastries. We make these at Christmas and special occasions and use holiday cookie cutters. You can roll the dough out using powdered sugar (don't use flour-it will make them tough), but I roll out dough on wax paper on my cookie sheets, adding no powdered sugar if possible. I return it to the fridge to firm before cutting out the shapes with cookie cutters and place them on the baking sheet. Do this quickly as the butter will return to room temp and be difficult to cut. If this happens, return to the fridge till firm and continue cutting out cookies. After baking, then sprinkle with powdered sugar or drizzle with a glaze. I've never used a jelly or jam as they are thinner than the solo brands of fruit fillings. This will be a 10 star pastry for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Maybe I did something wrong, but these cookies didnt turn out for me. They tasted like flour! I was so hopeful after reading all the wonderful reviews, but I just couldnt get them to turn out. Probably my own errors, but I was dissappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
The cookie does not have the rich flavor expected, it lacks flavor. The only good thing on the cookie is the jam, but not worth the effort. I ate them, but not one other person liked them at all, including my 4 year old granddaughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
These cookies are the best I ever tasted and easy to make .I added 1/4 cup confect sugar for a little more sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
These were okay, but not the rich delicacy that I was expecting. Also, it's hard to make an indention in a cookie 1/8 of an inch thick that will hold 1/2 tsp of jam. And the recipe didn't state whether the butter should be cold or soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Ice Cream

Learn tricks for making perfect homemade pumpkin ice cream.

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States