Ice Cream Kolacky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
The dough surprised me-it's like a croissant! It was so easy to make. I made it for the first time today. Delicious! I used my food processor to cut down on time and effort and used all natural blackberry preserves. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweettoothgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I was given a few jars of preserves and needed a recipe to use them in. I received this recipe in an email and decided to try it out before Christmas. I used a Kitchen Aid mixer with the bread dough hook and it couldn't have been easier. They are delicious! I was worried about the actual cookie not being sweet enough, but that wasn't a problem at all. They taste just like the sandwich cookies that we buy at the bakery (and that my sister and I fight over!). I can't wait to make them again for Christmas next week since I just finished up the last one! These will definitely be added to my list of annual Christmas cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
These cookies were not the easiest to make - freezing fingers and very stiff to roll out the next day after a night in the 'frig. However, I had high hopes based on the reviews---and it had ice cream in it! They were good and everyone who ate them liked them; some loved them. To me they tasted like a flat, flaky biscuit with jelly on it. Thus, the four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Yummy, cook them at 300F for 45-60min. When I followed the temperature and time suggested here, they did not cook well inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Great taste but be conservative with your dough. You cannot use the scraps and reroll it out. Even after freezing it for 20 min. Maybe using a pizza cutter and cutting out squares so there is no waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stuart, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
So yummy and easy. I wasn't sure about the dough before cooking, but the cookie turned out great. It is very buttery and flaky. I used homemade boysenberry jam and Trader Joe's pumpkin butter to fill the thumbprints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Great recipe. I was a little worried when I finished the dough as it seemed very hard. In the morning I let dough sit out to soften a little before attempting to roll-out. I followed a reviewer's suggestion and rolled dough out on baking stones covered with wax paper. I cut out with glass and then just removed outer edges and didn't have to move cut cookie. Cookies shrink up so I could cut them close together and get a dozen on each cookie sheet. Didn't need any flour to roll out as long as I only rolled in one direction. I used a decorator tip to squirt jelly on cookie. I was able to get 4 1/2 dozen with one batch using an average size glass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
The funny thing about making this was that I followed everyone tips in making it a turnover and I really should have left it alone. The original directions were great other than the extra flour needed. They were a huge hit with my FIL. I did glaze some with sugar water, but you couldn't tell the difference between the ones I did and didn't so it wouldn't have matter. After I finally followed the original directions everything went smoothly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LareinaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saegertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Friendsville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
There's hope for this recipe. After almost throwing this dough out the back door, I took a deep breath and decided there must be an answer to making this combo work. I thought about the ice cream and the fact that it needed to freeze up in order to make the dough firm up. I put a cup of the dough in the freezer for about 15 minutes to see if it would firm up. In the meantime, I mixed a cup of powdered sugar and a cup of flour together for rolling out the dough. (My mother-in-law taught me to use an old sheet for rolling out dough..an old German trick which works well and is an easy cleanup). I coated the sheet well with the sugar/flour mixture and them rolled the dough into a ball and then the dough was easy to roll out. I had to keep flipping the dough over to keep it well dusted and kept dusting the rolling pin too. I used a biscuit cutter to cut the circles and they flopped right out of the cutter on to the Pam sprayed cookie skeet. The first batch stuck to the cookie sheet and that's when I decided to use Pam. I put an indention in each cookie and used cherry jam which ran quite a bit. Oh, I also added a 1/2 cup powdered sugar to the dough because it tasted bland. All in all the cookies were a hit with my husband and they did taste pretty good. I don't know if I will try this again because it was a lot of work. Another thing confusing was the softness of the butter. Mine was soft so I did not get a crumbled mixture. I guess the butter should be cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Very bland no one I have given one to says they are good, everyone says right away "there is no taste" Will not make again although they were easy to make. Barbara Ontario Canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States