Ice Cream Kolacky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I had never heard of Kolacky but was very intrigued by the recipe. I or my family didn't care for these. It just tasted like pie dough with some jam on it. They do not keep well, becoming soggy in one day in a air tight container. They were best shortly after baking. I used regular vanilla ice cream, maybe would be better with a richer version. I didn't find any trouble mixing the dough but it never formed a smooth dough. I used my heavy duty Kitchen Aid with the dough hook. To those who like Kolacky I think it is an easy recipe, for those who think it is a butter cookie.... it is not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I made this with store-brand low fat vanilla ice cream. It was still good, but highly recommend going ahead and using a high quality regular vanilla ice cream (not low fat). I think it will definitely make a difference. However, it was great still, just more on the less-sweet side, which was totally fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I was disappointed with these. They were SO much work... from mixing in the ice cream with rubber gloves to cutting out each cookie... and then they just didn't keep very well. They got very soggy and gross. No one in my family even wants to eat them. My mom actually said they're a good kind of cookie to have around--because they aren't tempting you to snack on them! :o( I won't be making them again. Ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I made these cookies and was told that they tasted as they should have by other people but we found them very flat in taste and would not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Wow! These are amazing and extremely easy! Very flaky and tasty! I was intrigued by the title and the ingredients! I'll definitely be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaLuvs2Bake

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
A Kolacky is a pastry that is filled; not a cookie. That being said; these are SO good! There is NO need to add extra flour (like some reviewers have stated, the recipe as written is perfect) however, You MUST use butter in order to get the dough to set up right and you must let it chill overnight. I can't speak for those who used their hands instead of dough hooks, but these were easy to make. A little time consuming but well worth it. The secret is to use powdered sugar instead of flour when rolling it out and to cut all your shapes out 1st before adding your preserves & folding them, that way the dough is still chilled. Roll it thinner than 1/8 inch, because they puff up while cooking. Cut the dough into circles or squares, add the preserves, fold them over, then pinch them closed. ( I cut out both shapes since I made 2 different flavors.) These pastries when made into a turnover look more appealing and aren't messy at all. I cooked them for 20-25 minutes and opted not to roll them in powdered sugar at the end. (they didn't need it) Enjoyed with a cup of hot tea, Yum! I will definitely make these again. Edit: Blueberry was better than strawberry and all pastries were eaten after only 3 days. I will be making more blueberry ones this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
i came out with a huge ice cream mess. thought it was going to be easy and fun and i will never try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
My fiance has been ating these not stop since they came out of the oven. I used Ben & Jerry's Cinnamon Buns Ice cream and Trader Joe's Pumpkin Butter & Cranberry Apple Butter for the filling. I also use the backside of the larger side of a melon baller for the indent instead of my thumb and the smaller side to fill the cookie. Didn't find the dougf to be hard to work with or dry, i did follow others suggestions & added 2/3 cup more flour to the mix. Will definatley make these again & experiment with other ice cream flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
these cookies turned out really great, thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Fabulous Recipe, everyone that has tried the cookies loves them. Its like eating a fabulous paistry. All I can say to someone having trouble with getting it right is that you need to use real butter. It makes it so yummy and flakey wether they are warm from the oven of a week old...So so so good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States