Ice Cream Cone Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2001
What a great idea -- much more fun for the kids to bring these ice cream cone treats to school for their birthday rather than plain ol' everyday cupcakes! It impresses the heck out of the moms who see them too!! 8) Do not fill cones any further than two-thirds full because they will overflow. Also, I melted about a 1/2 cup of chippits with 1 tbl vegetable oil and drizzled a tsp or so on top of the iced cones before shaking the sprinkles on -- you get a nice sundae effect this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
Definitly a cute idea, but I think it will depend on the recipe you use as to how good they will come out. I filled the cones just halfway, and my recipe didn't rise enough to fill the cone up. You'll want to experiment a bit with small batches before doing it for parties. I recommend using whipped cream rather than frosting, so you can pile it on for a fun effect without adding a whole cupful of overly sweet fat to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
These were really easy and fun to decorate with my 9 yr old son. We made them yesterday for today. They were good except the cones were stale (soft). I am not sured if it was because I stored them in an air-tight bowl after icing or weather they were stale when I bought them (used on the same day they were bought). Anyway, the kids loved them! Great, easy and cheap idea for a little kids birthday party...why waste cake? I'll make them again for smaller kids...a hit! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 25, 2000
What a life saving recipe! The kids classmates thought they were cool not to mention the teacher. No muss No fuss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2001
Great for parties (home or school ect) added a little more at the end and it made a great drip affect...nothing like icecream melting and drinping down the side of the cone:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
A great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
These are super cute and extremely easy to make. Kids love them. Nice for a birthday party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
Great idea and kids love them. I would def fill them 2/3 the way up the cone-any less and they wont rise enough. I ice and put mini m&m's on and the kids love them. Sugar sprinkles are so fun as well. If you want to get fancy you can ice half chocolate and half vanilla for a twist cone effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Photo by jsewell
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
AWESOME! I used a decorating bag and a 1M tip to make the "swirl" and a sour cherry candy for the top! Kids actually thought they were real ice cream cones! I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsewell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
I am giving it 5 stars for presentation. It looks great! (Look at my pic of these) I used a decoraters bag and a #22 tip and swirled the icing to make it look like ice cream and added sprinkles with a red gumdrop for the finishing touch. It was a huge success with my daughters grade one class for the end of the year celebration.....BUT... I can only say that i will not make again as the texture of the cone was soggy and getting them in and out of the oven was hard as they were wobbily and tipped over. Don't fill any more then 1/2 way as it will overflow. Also transporting them to the school was a chore, after many frustrating attempts, I finally crammed them all into a aluminum pan and hoped for the best! I'll stick to traditional cupcakes from now on. It's a cute idea though, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States