Ice Cream Cone Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I make these a bit different in that I put a liner in my cupcake pan and fill it about 2/3 of the way full with batter. Then I take the icecream cone and place the open end on the batter. As the cupcake cooks it bakes up into the cone. I've never had a problem with soggy cones. Then I take the cone out of the tin, peel off the liner, and then frost after they cool. This leaves a nice round mound on the top of your cone perfect for icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
509 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
If you want to make these but fear the soggy cone, don't be afraid! It only happens when they are overfilled with batter and the batter leaks over the sides during baking. Whenever I make these, I fill them just a bit over half full (it seems like such a little bit) but it will rise to the top and is perfect for decorating. I must say though, that I have never had leftovers so cannot comment on whether or not they are soggy the next day. These are a great crowd pleaser!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
321 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NEgirl
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
After reading many reviews, I experimented with the 3 ways that were suggested to make these cupcakes as I was bound and determined to make them for my daughter's birthday. By far the best way is to bake the cupcake in a regular baking cup/paper, after the cupcake is cooled cut the top off the cupcake but leave a small ridge of where the paper was(so you can tuck that part inside the cone). Now cut the bottom of the cupcake in half and put both halves inside the cone - it should fit nicely. Tuck the top of the cupcake into the top rim of the cone, don't just set it on the cone or it will fall off too easily, plus tucking it in will make a nice rounded cupcake so your frosting will be higher and look like an actual ice cream cone. I used a buttercream frosting with a piping bag and a #2D tip on it to swirl the frosting around the cupcake making it look like icecream. Had I had more time I would have painted some stripes of coloring in the bag and made a strawberry swirl affect with the icing, but it was after midnight....things you will do for your kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
I've tried this recipe before for my son's baseball team. The cone was soft after baking with the batter in them. Instead of pouring the batter into the cones, bake the cupcakes in the regular muffin pan without the cone. Take prepared cupcakes and sit in top of cone and then decorate. Same look and idea with a fresh crispy cone and soft moist cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
These were a tremendous hit at my daughter's 6th birthday party. To combat the soggy cone issue, I did bake them the night before, but before serving them, I baked them for a few minutes at 350 the next morning, allowed them to cool, then piped on the frosting. The cones were crisp when they were served. I used funfetti cake, strawberry frosting, and decorative sugar sprinkles. The 'cherry' on top is a red sixlet! I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
These were so cute! I took the other's advice and baked them in the papercups first. After they cooled, I cut the cupcake into top and bottom. I halved the bottom and smooshed it into the icecream "handle". I took the top part of the cupcake and tucked the sides down into the cone so it was easy to frost and looked like icecream. I used yellow cake mix and chocolate frosting and put the sprinkles on them. I used a red M&M for a cherry. To transport them, I used a storage container, lined it with foil and packed them in tight. The kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2002
I was very disappointed in these. I thought they were extremely cute, but I have to say I (and the kids) thought the cone tasted awful after baked and was rather soggy the next day. Actually the soggy cone tasted better than the crisp cone. I wouldn't make these again, unless I try covering the cone with aluminum foil before baking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMOFCASSIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Duncansville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2001
What a great idea -- much more fun for the kids to bring these ice cream cone treats to school for their birthday rather than plain ol' everyday cupcakes! It impresses the heck out of the moms who see them too!! 8) Do not fill cones any further than two-thirds full because they will overflow. Also, I melted about a 1/2 cup of chippits with 1 tbl vegetable oil and drizzled a tsp or so on top of the iced cones before shaking the sprinkles on -- you get a nice sundae effect this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
Definitly a cute idea, but I think it will depend on the recipe you use as to how good they will come out. I filled the cones just halfway, and my recipe didn't rise enough to fill the cone up. You'll want to experiment a bit with small batches before doing it for parties. I recommend using whipped cream rather than frosting, so you can pile it on for a fun effect without adding a whole cupful of overly sweet fat to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jsewell
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
AWESOME! I used a decorating bag and a 1M tip to make the "swirl" and a sour cherry candy for the top! Kids actually thought they were real ice cream cones! I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsewell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States