Ice Cream Cone Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
I made these for a kids birthday party the night before. Numerous reviews recommended not filling the cones up too much because they would over flow. I filled mine 2/3's full and they did not poof up over the lip of the cone. Luckily I could correct this with icing and later batches. However, what a diaster to discover the next morning that most of them were no longer standing in the container...they had fallen over because the moisture in the cake made the cones soggy. Great idea and not bad but THEY MUST BE MADE THE SAME DAY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Cones were soggy and half baked out over the cone and the other half didn't even rise to meet the cone top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
i made thes and they were a big hit at a pot luck at work.did not change anything.no soggy cones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Labelle, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeanna
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
I think that these were such a clever idea! I played around with the fill line before I made a big batch. I also found that different cake mixes required different fill lines. This was the biggest hit with the adults at the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I overfilled several of them and they were a mess. But the ones I filled conservatively came out the best. The kids loved them! However, several didn't transport well (ie they fell over). So, if you plan on having them somewhere other than your home I wouldn't recommend you making these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofRedHeads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ildefonso
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
these are so easy to make and kids love them!! I made them for my son's 10th birthday party. I frosted 1/2 with choc. and 1/2 with vanilla frosting and put out bowls of toppings that the kids could customize them with. so fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ildefonso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Photo by CarolynT
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This is a classic recipe...just like I remember when I was a kid. My little guy had fun decorating these and thought they were "cool".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
The hit of my grandaughter's 1st birthday party. The secret to not having soggy cone bottoms, is to definitely line the cupcake pans with the liners, and then place the open end of the cone on top of the cake mixture. Only fill the cake batter a little over halfway in the liner, or it will expand too much when baking. Also, I opened up the oven a couple of times to straighten the cones, as they tilt when the mixture is baking. When the cones cooled, it was very easy to peel off the liners. Just so you know, the cake batter doesn't go to the very bottom of the cone when it is baked. You will have about a quarter of unfilled cone. The only problem I had was finding a container to easily transport the cones. Because they are top heavy, they tend to fall over. I ended up packing them close together into a deep cover of a tuppleware container . I also think by refrigerating them right before serving would be to an advantage, since I found that the icing was very sticky. All in all , the kids loved them, and so did several adults. I would certainly make them again, because they were different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
These are pretty easy to make, but quite difficult to transport! Make sure not to fill the cones too much - its perfect if you fill the bottom up to the line where the top widens out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
They turned out really cute! I did a funfetti cupcake with cream cheese frosting off this site. Adorable :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States