Ice Cream Cone Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
These are always a hit with kids! I do find that after putting the cones in the muffin tins, if you put some foil around the base of the cone it helps them to stay steady. The only thing I don't like about these is that I found if you make these the day before, the cone gets soggy, but other than that they are super cute and really fun for kids! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
These are yummy and fun! Absolutely heed the advice of not overfilling! I overfilled and ended up with a mess! Next time I will be sure to read reviews *first*. Lesson learned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I remember making these for my parties through elementary school - they were quite fun to make with my Nana and they were very yummy. :) I'd give them a FIVE STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaitlin Judith Gagnon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
These were fun. I was nervous how they would turn out and if they would get cooked through, etc. but I had no problems with them. I used mini-muffin tins to bake them in and they fit perfectly. When storing these.. make sure to not store them in a air-tight container because the cones will get soggy and start leaning over. I read that I wasn't suppose to, but still did anyways, and just over night some of them were already starting to get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Made this for my son's class and it turned out wonderful. If you just fill the batter 2/3 of the way, it will turn out great. And even if it fills up to the top, you can smush it in when you get it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
These were pretty good but next time I will bake the cupcakes seperately and "stuff" them in the cones later. Also, will go the extra mile and do the icing from scratch as store bought is just not good enough and the extra effort is well worth it! Also, will melt some chocolate and fill the bottom of the cone with it for an added treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BABY
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
The reason I'm giving them 1 star is because it tuned soggy the next day. It didn't not hold up and just looked plain sloppy. I didn't even bake the cake in the cups. I put the cake inside the cones and it still didn't hold up. I tried a second time and used a waffle cup... same thing :\ never again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I made these when I was in my 20's and worked in a daycare. You need to fill them 3/4 to the top. The kids love them. I was wondering about the icing in this picture. Is it cool whip or 7 minute? The brownie idea sounds great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I have been making these for a long long time now and they are so cool! No messy papers to deal with. Great for birthday parties or to take to school or even work! The problem is getting the right amount of batter in the cones. If it's too much it bloops over the top and is a mess and if it's not enough then it doesn't come up high enough in the cone. So becareful there! They are FUN, though! I was thinking of trying them with brownie batter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
I made these for a kids birthday party the night before. Numerous reviews recommended not filling the cones up too much because they would over flow. I filled mine 2/3's full and they did not poof up over the lip of the cone. Luckily I could correct this with icing and later batches. However, what a diaster to discover the next morning that most of them were no longer standing in the container...they had fallen over because the moisture in the cake made the cones soggy. Great idea and not bad but THEY MUST BE MADE THE SAME DAY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States