Ice Cream Cone Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I have been making these for years! For birthday parties, put a scoop of ice cream on top instead of the icing. Kids will get the cake and ice cream all in one hand, without extra dishes for you to clean up. They do not store well, so try to make only what you think you will use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
WARNING: Do NOT attempt to make using a cupcake liner and inverting the cone on top as suggested by a top rated reviewer- it fails miserably! I've been making these treats for many, many years and often wondered if there was a trick to obtaining a more rounded top since they're often flat. I tried CHOOSELIFE24's tip and had to toss the results. The batter does not bake up into the cone very far. The cones become lopsided. Once you remove the wrapper the cake portion is too fragile to work with and impossible to frost. I love these treats and I will continue to make them as I've always done - by filling 2/3 of the cone with batter. Delicious and addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This was great! I read all the reviews @ soggy cones, here's the answer. Put 2/3 batter into cones and bake. After removing from oven, prick a hole in the bottom for "venting"! I Made them the night before bday party, and no soggy cones! Another tip: place foil over muffin pans to ensure they don't tip over while baking and transporting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I made these following the recipe. Turned out perfect. But the tops were slightly flat so I decorated and piled on frosting to create that 'ice cream cone' effect. Needless to say, a lot of frosting ended up on the face when trying to eat it! ha! oh well - dessert is suppose to be fun! If i can figure out how to get more cake on top, ill make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smellymel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
These were great! I filled them just up to the ridge inside the cone - perfect! I used fluffy white icing (box mix) and, with sprinkles on top, it made for very pretty presentation. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
came out good, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abell2010
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
SERVE PROMPTLY AFTER COOKING, and FROSTING!!!!!! What this RECIPE fails to tell you, is that the cupcake ice cream cones need to be served promptly after making them. I decided to make these for my bfs 31st birthday because it'd be nice not to have dishes every time we want to have a piece of cake. ..I made then the night before.. let them cool, and planned on frosting and decorating them the next day.. NO WAY, when i opened the container they were SOGGY, all of them fell over. Half of them can't even stand up on there own... They are okay to eat if you enjoy eating a SOGGY ice cream cone. Some where on this recipe it needs to SAY, serve promptly after cooling and frosting.. That they cannot be stored. I was so excited to make these.. but what a mess! What am I going to do with 15 soggy cake ice cream cones?! waste of money time and energy. Don't make these to surprise any one the next day or you will be sorely disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
My daughter stills talks about these and shes 33 years old! The only difference, we had to have chocolate cake mix..YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I made three batches of these cupcakes today for my daughter's soccer team dinner. The first batch followed the recipe exactly. Most of the cupcakes ran over and were a mess. After cooling, I trimmed them and was able to even them out with frosting. The second batch followed the review that said to use a cupcake liner and place the cone on top of the batter. This was more successful, but some of the cupcakes turned out lopsided. The final batch was made in a regular muffin pan, without liners. I pierced a small hole in the bottom of each cone with a chopstick so that steam could escape during baking, then I placed the cone upside down on the batter. Halfway through baking, I straightened the cones. This batch came out the best of the three!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssreed

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Very cute and a huge hit with kids. I made them twice, and each time the cones were soggy within hours. I even used applesauce instead of oil in the cake mixes thinking that may help- it did not. The recipe is definitely a keeper for kids' events, though. Topped with some piped on frosting, sprinkles, and a cherry, kids love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States