Ice Cream Cone Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
I am giving it 5 stars for presentation. It looks great! (Look at my pic of these) I used a decoraters bag and a #22 tip and swirled the icing to make it look like ice cream and added sprinkles with a red gumdrop for the finishing touch. It was a huge success with my daughters grade one class for the end of the year celebration.....BUT... I can only say that i will not make again as the texture of the cone was soggy and getting them in and out of the oven was hard as they were wobbily and tipped over. Don't fill any more then 1/2 way as it will overflow. Also transporting them to the school was a chore, after many frustrating attempts, I finally crammed them all into a aluminum pan and hoped for the best! I'll stick to traditional cupcakes from now on. It's a cute idea though, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
I made these for my daughter's Birthday yesterday and they turned out great! But I did bake them differently. I put the cupcake batter in the papercups, then put the cone on top. The cake filled the top of the cone, but not the 'handle', which was fine. (I tried pouring batter in the cone and had problems with overflow and soggy cones.) I then did what another user suggested and cut X's in cereal boxes to stand up the frosted cone (decorated with chocolate and vanilla frosting, sprinkles, and a cherry). I wrapped a separate shoebox with Birthday wrapping paper for the 4 cones that each held a candle for the Birthday girl to blow out. A cute desert for 24 people for less than $5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jsewell
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
AWESOME! I used a decorating bag and a 1M tip to make the "swirl" and a sour cherry candy for the top! Kids actually thought they were real ice cream cones! I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsewell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
I've tried this recipe before for my son's baseball team. The cone was soft after baking with the batter in them. Instead of pouring the batter into the cones, bake the cupcakes in the regular muffin pan without the cone. Take prepared cupcakes and sit in top of cone and then decorate. Same look and idea with a fresh crispy cone and soft moist cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
I liked this recipe. But next time I would make the cupcakes in tin foil baking cups instead of putting it right into the cone so it can cook right. Also this way the cone doesn't get soft and it stays crispy and the kids can choose if they really want the cone. All did though.With the tin foil, it shouldn't stick but to be sure put a little oil so it will slip right out. I think this also gives it a better "scoop" apperance so it looks more appetizing. They loved it and i will definetely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
Very fun idea. I used chocolate cake instead of the yellow cake, and I made mine from scratch. I ened up icing them with a Cream Cheese frosting, which went really nicely. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
It's been awhile, but I made these with my kids. These were cute, but didn't taste all that great. We agreed to stick to regular cake and ice cream. It was fun to spend time together with my children. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
These were really easy and fun to decorate with my 9 yr old son. We made them yesterday for today. They were good except the cones were stale (soft). I am not sured if it was because I stored them in an air-tight bowl after icing or weather they were stale when I bought them (used on the same day they were bought). Anyway, the kids loved them! Great, easy and cheap idea for a little kids birthday party...why waste cake? I'll make them again for smaller kids...a hit! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
Great idea and kids love them. I would def fill them 2/3 the way up the cone-any less and they wont rise enough. I ice and put mini m&m's on and the kids love them. Sugar sprinkles are so fun as well. If you want to get fancy you can ice half chocolate and half vanilla for a twist cone effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
These are super cute and extremely easy to make. Kids love them. Nice for a birthday party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States