Ice Cream Cone Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by VWINKEL
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Adorable! I thought the cones became a little soggy on some, but they were still a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
This dessert was really good. I had a birthday party and had 10 people there. I made this with my mom and everybody loved n'them. Actually, for me they were' soggy. I have a suggestion for everyone, don't make too many of these. First find out how many people are coming for sure before you make these. I invited 17 people and made about 22 of these. The icing waqs dry after a while. Other than that they are delicious and great for any occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
If you want to make these but fear the soggy cone, don't be afraid! It only happens when they are overfilled with batter and the batter leaks over the sides during baking. Whenever I make these, I fill them just a bit over half full (it seems like such a little bit) but it will rise to the top and is perfect for decorating. I must say though, that I have never had leftovers so cannot comment on whether or not they are soggy the next day. These are a great crowd pleaser!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
324 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Good extra item for a birthday party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elijah Colgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyoming, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
I think this is a great recipe. I have made them before for my oldest daughter's friends. The only difference was I tried making the cupcakes outside the cone as suggested by others. I found it more difficult to decorate the cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
These were so cute! I took the other's advice and baked them in the papercups first. After they cooled, I cut the cupcake into top and bottom. I halved the bottom and smooshed it into the icecream "handle". I took the top part of the cupcake and tucked the sides down into the cone so it was easy to frost and looked like icecream. I used yellow cake mix and chocolate frosting and put the sprinkles on them. I used a red M&M for a cherry. To transport them, I used a storage container, lined it with foil and packed them in tight. The kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I made these for a birthday party and all the kids loved it. With One cake mix,I just made 24 cones and 12 cupcakes, I baked it the mini minature pans, for added security, I wrapped foil on the bottom of the cones. I didn't have a problem taking it in and out of the oven. I made it the night before. After it baked and cool off a little bit, I put it in the freezer unfrosted. The day of the party, I took it out of the freezer and put them tightly in a pan, whatever cones that little cake I took some cake from the cupcake and pressed it in the cone. Then frosted and sprinkle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
I made these for a big BBQ we are having tomorrow..my only suggestion is NOT TO USE THE COLORED ICE CREAM CONES!! They don't hold up like the cream colored ones. They came out really good and will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelhill

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dakota City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Great recipe! The only thing I noticed was ice cream cones weren't listed as an ingredient you needed. I almost forgot to buy them before making the recipe! Still, everyone enjoyed this and I will be makng it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
I am giving it 5 stars for presentation. It looks great! (Look at my pic of these) I used a decoraters bag and a #22 tip and swirled the icing to make it look like ice cream and added sprinkles with a red gumdrop for the finishing touch. It was a huge success with my daughters grade one class for the end of the year celebration.....BUT... I can only say that i will not make again as the texture of the cone was soggy and getting them in and out of the oven was hard as they were wobbily and tipped over. Don't fill any more then 1/2 way as it will overflow. Also transporting them to the school was a chore, after many frustrating attempts, I finally crammed them all into a aluminum pan and hoped for the best! I'll stick to traditional cupcakes from now on. It's a cute idea though, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States