Ice Cream Cone Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I have seen these but never knew how to make them. Thanks! The kids love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSippigrl
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Love the idea! They were really cute and the taste was good even though the texture of the cone was a bit undesirable. I added mini chocolate chips to chocolate cake mix and frosted with bubble gum flavored frosting. They are top heavy so I will try to come up with a way to keep them from falling over and messing up the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
made these for birthday. Pretty easy, but a couple tumbled over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sara Gale
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
For this recipe I was really worried about the sogginess described in the reviews. I ended up poking 2 small holes in the bottom of the cones before setting them in the muffin pan and filling with batter. The holes allowed the steam to escape and not soak into the cone. I also used funfetti cake mix. I will warn that it does require quite a bit of frosting. I made this for my softball team that I coach and they LOVED it (Also made enough for the other team :) )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Gale
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
So many comments in the reviews about the cones getting soggy, either in baking or if trying to keep overnight if made the day before. Here’s a tip that may help, if you have a full set of round cookie cutters, or a single cutter that just fits inside the top of the cones. Cook the batter in standard patty cake liners and let them cool. Remove the paper liner and turn each cake upside down. Place one finger through the cutter to hold the cake centred, then twist the cutter down to remove the excess from the cake. The result? – a very nice fitting cake that can be pushed down into the crisp cone - leaving a nicely rounded top! If you need to prepare the day before, use a bristle brush to paint the insides of the top of the cone with melted chocolate (you won’t get any complaints) and prick around the sides 5 or 6 times, (under the cake line,) with the point of a skewer. This lets the air space under the cake ‘breathe’, but if you bake the cakes and make the frosting the day before, it’s only a short prep to pop the cakes into the cones and pipe on the icing before transporting and serving. The best way to transport these top-heavy beauties has already been suggested – and can be seen used by many of the take-away franchisers for their coffee cups and soft-serve cones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefJohn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
it is a little wierd eating cake out of a icecream cone but it is good I was alittle afraid of the cones burning but they do not just serve them with icecream and your good to go weird but really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
While a fun treat to make(totally forgot to rate this months ago). My kids loved the whole fake out ice cream cone...and always look to me to make something different. I will give this note out to others. Warning....waffle cones and colored cones are not exceptable for this recipe....as someone that tried them. they warped and sagged and were not appealing to the eye ;-) Oh it was bad. Stick with the plain and original cones, they are the best. And note: the recipe here...leaves off the cones as part of the recipe....which is important.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
I tried these with my large ice cream scoop (about 1/4 cup) and most overflowed. The one that had the last of the batter (maybe 3 Tbsp) came out perfectly. Next time I'll find a scoop that measures 3 Tbsp and use that to fill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOBBES7895

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
The idea/concept on these is wonderful, however if you want to make them ahead use caution! I did these the night before my son's school party and the ones I did as the instructions here suggested got soggy only 8 hours later! Perhaps it is the mix that is used (I had funfetti from Betty Crocker, which "has pudding in the batter"). I did not "overfill" as others suggested and still they got soggy after letting them cool. With half of the cupcakes I lined the pan and filled as you normally would, then placed the cone on top. Some of the cones toppeled a bit, but it was easy to trim and the cake/frosting ratio was far more authentic looking and the batter filled a suitable portion of the cone and were not soggy. Hope this helps! Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
My kids were over the moon for these. I will definitely make again. I experimented with several ways to fill the cones to see which would work out best. Someone suggested to use muffin papers filled 1/2 way then put the cone on top so the cupcake bakes into it. It worked like a charm. I also put batter directly into the cone which worked ok too but you didn't get the "ball" look on top of the cone. The biggest tip is not to over fill the cone or the muffin paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States