Ice Cream Cone Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2000
What a life saving recipe! The kids classmates thought they were cool not to mention the teacher. No muss No fuss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2000
They were cute and most of the kids liked them, but the cones tasted stale after being cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2001
Great for parties (home or school ect) added a little more at the end and it made a great drip affect...nothing like icecream melting and drinping down the side of the cone:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2001
What a great idea -- much more fun for the kids to bring these ice cream cone treats to school for their birthday rather than plain ol' everyday cupcakes! It impresses the heck out of the moms who see them too!! 8) Do not fill cones any further than two-thirds full because they will overflow. Also, I melted about a 1/2 cup of chippits with 1 tbl vegetable oil and drizzled a tsp or so on top of the iced cones before shaking the sprinkles on -- you get a nice sundae effect this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2002
I was very disappointed in these. I thought they were extremely cute, but I have to say I (and the kids) thought the cone tasted awful after baked and was rather soggy the next day. Actually the soggy cone tasted better than the crisp cone. I wouldn't make these again, unless I try covering the cone with aluminum foil before baking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMOFCASSIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Duncansville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
A great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2004
These are too cute! We top them with ice cream instead of icing. The kids and their friends love them. Since you can use any kind of cake or ice cream there are lots of different flavor combinations. The only drawback is that the cones lose their crispness and become almost chewy. They are still good and the kids don't seem to mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
Definitly a cute idea, but I think it will depend on the recipe you use as to how good they will come out. I filled the cones just halfway, and my recipe didn't rise enough to fill the cone up. You'll want to experiment a bit with small batches before doing it for parties. I recommend using whipped cream rather than frosting, so you can pile it on for a fun effect without adding a whole cupful of overly sweet fat to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
These are super cute and extremely easy to make. Kids love them. Nice for a birthday party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
Great idea and kids love them. I would def fill them 2/3 the way up the cone-any less and they wont rise enough. I ice and put mini m&m's on and the kids love them. Sugar sprinkles are so fun as well. If you want to get fancy you can ice half chocolate and half vanilla for a twist cone effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States