Ice Cream Cone Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I grew up making these cupcakes all the time! I usually make them by covering a big cake pan with aluminum foil, cutting enough holes in it for each cone and sticking them in there to bake. It keeps them from falling over. I also usually use strawberry or chocolate frosting. Everyone usually fights over the strawberry ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
These were a tremendous hit at my daughter's 6th birthday party. To combat the soggy cone issue, I did bake them the night before, but before serving them, I baked them for a few minutes at 350 the next morning, allowed them to cool, then piped on the frosting. The cones were crisp when they were served. I used funfetti cake, strawberry frosting, and decorative sugar sprinkles. The 'cherry' on top is a red sixlet! I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Cute, but a pain in the butt to make. The cone was so soggy and I didn't care for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
I made these for my sons nursery school on his birthday and they were a big hit. I tried to make the icing look like real ice cream with a pastry bag but gave up and just used a spatula, but that's due to my own poor baking abilities not do to the cupakes. I did find that the cones came out a little soggy but thought the cones tasted fine, seemed to fit in with the cupcakes. All in all I will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsgrove, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Vineland, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
This recipe was AWESOME! i tried it with my friend and it was SOO good! here is a hint: when baking, try to use silicon muffin pans, they work SOO good! Also, instead of using muffin batter, use cake batter! it makes them fluffier!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I made these with my 6 year old daughter and her friends this weekend. What a nice change from the usual cupcakes. they were fun and easy to make for the little ones. Even the dogs were happy with all the sprinkles on the floor :) I agree with the other rewiers these are best when fresh, although there weren't too many of those....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dayna~rae
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
These are so cute! I had heard of ice cream cone cupcakes but had never attempted---very cute & easy to do! I used a Duncan Hines Chocoate cake mix and pre-made chocolate fudge icing w/ sprinkles. My boys think I am very clever, LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Photo by NEgirl
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
After reading many reviews, I experimented with the 3 ways that were suggested to make these cupcakes as I was bound and determined to make them for my daughter's birthday. By far the best way is to bake the cupcake in a regular baking cup/paper, after the cupcake is cooled cut the top off the cupcake but leave a small ridge of where the paper was(so you can tuck that part inside the cone). Now cut the bottom of the cupcake in half and put both halves inside the cone - it should fit nicely. Tuck the top of the cupcake into the top rim of the cone, don't just set it on the cone or it will fall off too easily, plus tucking it in will make a nice rounded cupcake so your frosting will be higher and look like an actual ice cream cone. I used a buttercream frosting with a piping bag and a #2D tip on it to swirl the frosting around the cupcake making it look like icecream. Had I had more time I would have painted some stripes of coloring in the bag and made a strawberry swirl affect with the icing, but it was after midnight....things you will do for your kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
240 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
My mother made these for my slumber party birthday once when I was a little girl. She set an undecorated cupcake cone in front of each girl with several bowls of various frostings and candies in the middle of the table so we could each decorate our own! It was a yummy treat as well as a fun party activity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cuppycake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Dunwoody, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
When I was in 1st grade, the daycare my sister was in and I went to before and after school made these one day. I didn't see the first steps but I thought they baked the cupcakes first. It's suck a cute idea that it has stuck with me all this time. I graduated high school 7 years ago so it's been awhile! (-:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Andover, Maine, USA
Living In: Midway, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States