Ice Cream Cone Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Very cute and a huge hit with kids. I made them twice, and each time the cones were soggy within hours. I even used applesauce instead of oil in the cake mixes thinking that may help- it did not. The recipe is definitely a keeper for kids' events, though. Topped with some piped on frosting, sprinkles, and a cherry, kids love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bea frank
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
These were very delicious, but I had a great deal of trouble with them in the oven. I had to cook them for quite a while- longer than the box said- because when I took them out, the dough was still gooey. They were messy on the cone and hard to frost, too. Of course, the taste of them made up for the work I went through to make them! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bea frank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Golden Valley, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
For some reason these cupcakes never cooked evenly. I ended up throwing away 1/2 of the batch and the rest were cooked but gummy around the edge so I ended up tossing those too. What a bummer. Not sure if there's a high altitude recipe for this or not, but this one didn't work at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This recipe gets 5 stars for the idea behind it, but since the cones do bake up soft and get mushy quickly, I am only giving it 4 stars. This recipe is also only good if you are planning on keeping the cones in one location as they fall easily, and I learned this the hard way. The cones that I used fit perfectly in my mini muffin pan. I baked them in there, decorated them in there, and then tried to take them to the "party" area in a different room, and when one fell, they all fell. The frosting was mushed on some of them, but that didn't keep the kids from trying them. The one and only complaint was that the cones were soft and chewy instead of crunchy. They did all get eaten, and everyone thought they were adorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Loved it! So easy! My daughter loved them. I just made a box mix and canned frosting. I will save this recipe and make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lorlak
Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Made these to be sold at a concession stand. I followed other peoples advice and baked the cupcakes separately. The other thing I did to avoid the complaint of soggy cones was to melt left over easter chocolate and line each cone with it and let harden before putting the cupcakes in the cones.... It worked beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorlak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
my son loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUBBLES5887

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Bend, Kansas, USA
Living In: Pawnee Rock, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I made these for my daughters bday this year. They were a huge hit! Great for kids
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I would give these a 5 for being so cute, but maybe I am doing something wrong because my cones either get soggy or too hard to chew. It's super cute though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veg
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
My frosting would not stay on, but otherwise this was a cute idea, and easy to prepare. I tried it both ways and the waffle cones on top of the cupcakes (during baking) worked much better. I filled each cupcake liner half way and sat the waffle cone on top. Left them in a container over night and before the guests arrived I baked them for about 5 minutes and the sogginess went away! I will try it again but with a different type of frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States