Ice Cream Cone Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I make these a bit different in that I put a liner in my cupcake pan and fill it about 2/3 of the way full with batter. Then I take the icecream cone and place the open end on the batter. As the cupcake cooks it bakes up into the cone. I've never had a problem with soggy cones. Then I take the cone out of the tin, peel off the liner, and then frost after they cool. This leaves a nice round mound on the top of your cone perfect for icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
510 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi 'Bates' Snyder

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I used chocolate cake mix & cream cheese icing & tinted the icing 2 look like choc & strawberry icecream. My sons pre-school class loved em . The ony problem i had was transporting them--lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manning62000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Telford, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I had to fiddle about too much with the recipe to give this a 4*. In the end the treats looked amazing but they were way too top heavy and very sweet cos of the frosting. Tip for transporting them, use the empty cone box, tape the end shut, draw circles of size needed, cut around 8 times from centre to edge of circle, fold down flaps to hold the cones steady to transport.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Effie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Another reviewer's advice was terrific: bake cupcakes in paper liners. Cut tops off and set aside. Then cut bottoms in half. Place these in base of cone. Then gently press tops onto top of cone. NO SOGGY CONES! I painted inside of pastry bag with several colors and filled with buttercream. Large star tip created swirled, colorful tops. A few sprinkles and a red jellybean for the "cherry". Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This recipe was so neat I made it for the first time and my sister who is so picky loved them! Just for everyone to know when you take them out, take them out of the cups one at a time don't take the muffin pan its self.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
My son (3 yrs old)loves these. I make these for every birthday and my friends also have me make these for their children's b-days. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommytocarson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hawkinsville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
These were a big hit with my five year old and her friends for her birthday. I made the cupcakes a few days before hand, and the cones got mushy. So dont suggest doing that. Other then that, they were so cute and tasted great. I used white cake with chocolate frosting, and whip cream, sprinkles and a cherry on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Cantrell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DaDoubleJs
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Easy, and beautiful presentation. The cones do get soggy after baking, but who really cares? The kids don't seem to mind because they look great and they taste good. I made a batch of just mini muffins and dropped them into the cone afterwards for the adults, so the cones wouldn't be soggy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaDoubleJs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
A really cute idea. 2 things though: wrap the cones in foil Don't use a really sweet icing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VWINKEL
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Adorable! I thought the cones became a little soggy on some, but they were still a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States