Ice Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
I made this Saturday to have for desert with Sunday Dinner. With the container of ice cream I had, dividing it in half was going to waste alot more cake than I wanted to. So I split the ice cream into 3rds. It made a pretty good fit to a 13x9. I made a Milk Chocolate cake with Vanilla ice cream. Instead of frosting, I used "Magic Shell" in a kind of checkerboard design and sprinkled a few chopped pecan pieces on top. It looked wonderful and was sooo very easy. Everyone raved. Thanks for posting Monica.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
433 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
I cut the cake in half lengthwise and put the ice cream in between the layers. I used white cake with cookies and cream ice cream. So it was white cake on top, Cookies and Cream ice cream in the middle with real Oreos I crushed and added on top of ice cream,and Hershey Chocolate Syrup I added in on top of ice cream, and white cake on the bottom . Covered in whip cream and Magic Shell put on like a checker board.I also wrote Happy Sweetest Day with Magic Shell. It was good!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
I made this cake for my husbands birthday. I tried to use my new cake decorating skills and I think for the first try it turned out pretty good. I did have to put the cake in the freezer a few times to harden it during the process, but still very fun to make and my husband loved it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catlover

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crin
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
this turned out better than i expected! its easy to make but the assembly requires some time (and cleanup!). i froze the cake overnight and it was easy to cut into layers the next day. i also softened the ice cream and spread it on the cake, instead of trying to cut it. i popped it back in the freezer and it was ready to eat in an hour. i can't wait to use this recipe again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kendra M.
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I used 9 inch rounds with a slice from a bucket of icecream. They fit very well and it looked just like a giant ice cream sandwich! Then I frosted the cake using some of the remaining icecream, thanks to the first reviewer's great tip. This was for a boys birthday party so I decorated with swirls of magic shell and let all the boys squirt piles of blue frosting on top! One of the moms thought the cake looked professional, which is tribute to how easy, fun and fabulous this recipe is. (PS--I also substituted Ghidelli brownie mix for chocolate cake mix).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra M.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
Loved this cake! So easy and inexpensive compared to store bought! Used the magic shell & pecan idea from another reviewer. Also used canned whipped cream around the edges. Maybe next time, I'll put a layer of something between the cake & ice cream--fudge, sauce or cookies. Lots of possibilities!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Simple and delicious. I made this for my nephews birthday and everyone LOVED it. I used yellow cake & chocolate brownie ice cream. I put crushed oreos & chocolate syrup between the cake & ice cream. Frosted w/ buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I made this for my daughter's birthday. The whole family enjoyed it very much. Much like a store bought ice cream cake. I add crushed oreos on top of the ice cream layer. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
easy I cut the ice cream to fit a 9X13 cake. This is handy for birthdays..elimanates having to dish up ice cream during the party. Its all-in- one and people love it. decorate with magic shell..yum....white cake with strawberry ice cream top with cool whip and fresh berries yum..hundreds of different combos..yet so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Compton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I used my homemade chocolate mix I use for making chocolate pudding.Very Good and I loved the recipe!Rate=5~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States