Ice Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I used my homemade chocolate mix I use for making chocolate pudding.Very Good and I loved the recipe!Rate=5~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I made this recipe but used the circle pans and then frosted it with a cool whip/chocolate pudding/milk mixture that is Heavenly!! Large container of cool whip/large instant choc. pudding and 1 cup milk. Excellent and 5 star with the frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
easy I cut the ice cream to fit a 9X13 cake. This is handy for birthdays..elimanates having to dish up ice cream during the party. Its all-in- one and people love it. decorate with magic shell..yum....white cake with strawberry ice cream top with cool whip and fresh berries yum..hundreds of different combos..yet so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tini Montavon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Compton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I made this for my daughter's birthday. The whole family enjoyed it very much. Much like a store bought ice cream cake. I add crushed oreos on top of the ice cream layer. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crin
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
this turned out better than i expected! its easy to make but the assembly requires some time (and cleanup!). i froze the cake overnight and it was easy to cut into layers the next day. i also softened the ice cream and spread it on the cake, instead of trying to cut it. i popped it back in the freezer and it was ready to eat in an hour. i can't wait to use this recipe again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Simple and delicious. I made this for my nephews birthday and everyone LOVED it. I used yellow cake & chocolate brownie ice cream. I put crushed oreos & chocolate syrup between the cake & ice cream. Frosted w/ buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Nothing wrong with how this tasted but it didn't turn out how I expected. Cutting the ice cream in half will only cover half the cake. If I ever try this again I would split it in fourths. This time I ended up cutting the cake in half and making a huge ice cream sandwich. I made a chocolate ganache for the top and sprinkled m&m's over the ice cream, yellow cake and birthday cake flavored ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
Ice Cream Cake is a family tradition on birthdays. This recipe showed me how I could just as easily make one as buy one. Used the Black Chocolate Cake recipe for the cake and made it in 2 round cake pans instead of a 9x13 which meant I had to slather the ice cream on by hand instead of using the square shape of the ice cream gallons. Made one with mint chocolate chip and the other with cookies and cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
This is the exact ice cream cake recipe that has been in our family for 50 years! I gave this a 4 star rating because it lacks a great frosting! My grandma made this same exact cake, but she used thawed Cool Whip plain, or flavored it with maraschino cherry juice mixed in for a frosting. Then she topped the cake with additional paper towel dried maraschino cherries. Wrap cake in waxed paper and freeze. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kendra M.
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I used 9 inch rounds with a slice from a bucket of icecream. They fit very well and it looked just like a giant ice cream sandwich! Then I frosted the cake using some of the remaining icecream, thanks to the first reviewer's great tip. This was for a boys birthday party so I decorated with swirls of magic shell and let all the boys squirt piles of blue frosting on top! One of the moms thought the cake looked professional, which is tribute to how easy, fun and fabulous this recipe is. (PS--I also substituted Ghidelli brownie mix for chocolate cake mix).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
199 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra M.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States