Ice Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I made this for my son's 3rd birthday party. I had envisioned a round cake, so I baked the entire cake mix in a Demarle silicone mold and, once cooled, sliced it in half. I then used the same silicone mold and pressed the ice cream into it and refroze until it was solid. The beauty of using a silicone mold was that I was able to just flip the solid icecream (while in the mold) on top of the bottom cake half and peel the mold off the ice cream, so the ice cream was already the perfect size/shape for the cake. After putting the other half of the cake on top, I frosted with a mixture of frosting folded into cool whip. It is beautiful!!! Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by talkteachermom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Chocolate cake, Reese's ice cream, cool whip, and Reese's magic shell topping. My children were very pleased, but I still felt like it was, well, just cake with ice cream and cool whip on top. it didn't seem to really become a cohesive something else. I will keep experimenting with the recipe. Oh, also I found the ice cream messy to work with. Softening it left it melty on the outside but too hard to be cut with string on the inside. A sharp knife run under hot water worked better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlantic, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
The only reason I am giving 4 instead of 5 stars is because I had a hard time getting the frosting I used to stick on the cake. This was great! I made it for my son's 9th bday, everyone loved it. I am sure this will be the "birthday reqest" from now on!Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tinaya Kincaid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I used my homemade chocolate mix I use for making chocolate pudding.Very Good and I loved the recipe!Rate=5~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I made this recipe but used the circle pans and then frosted it with a cool whip/chocolate pudding/milk mixture that is Heavenly!! Large container of cool whip/large instant choc. pudding and 1 cup milk. Excellent and 5 star with the frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
220 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
easy I cut the ice cream to fit a 9X13 cake. This is handy for birthdays..elimanates having to dish up ice cream during the party. Its all-in- one and people love it. decorate with magic shell..yum....white cake with strawberry ice cream top with cool whip and fresh berries yum..hundreds of different combos..yet so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tini Montavon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Compton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I made this for my daughter's birthday. The whole family enjoyed it very much. Much like a store bought ice cream cake. I add crushed oreos on top of the ice cream layer. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crin
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
this turned out better than i expected! its easy to make but the assembly requires some time (and cleanup!). i froze the cake overnight and it was easy to cut into layers the next day. i also softened the ice cream and spread it on the cake, instead of trying to cut it. i popped it back in the freezer and it was ready to eat in an hour. i can't wait to use this recipe again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Simple and delicious. I made this for my nephews birthday and everyone LOVED it. I used yellow cake & chocolate brownie ice cream. I put crushed oreos & chocolate syrup between the cake & ice cream. Frosted w/ buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Nothing wrong with how this tasted but it didn't turn out how I expected. Cutting the ice cream in half will only cover half the cake. If I ever try this again I would split it in fourths. This time I ended up cutting the cake in half and making a huge ice cream sandwich. I made a chocolate ganache for the top and sprinkled m&m's over the ice cream, yellow cake and birthday cake flavored ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States