Ice Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 1, 2009
I made a french vanilla cake and used strawberry cheesecake ice cream for the filling. Like many others I also used vanilla ice cream in place of frosting - very good. I had to work quickly when using the ice cream to frost with, but the results were worth it. Cake was delicious and had a had a nice presentation. Now that I know how to make this myself, I don't think I will buy a store bought one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Used the idea but made a few changes for ease-sake...I made 2 cakes (each 9X13) and cut both down the middle instead of slicing one cake into two thin halves. I also let the ice cream defrost just a bit and took the advice of the first reviewer and beat it with a mixer to get it soft. I then spread the softened ice cream between both cakes and put the cakes together. I made one side chocolate cake with coffee ice cream and the other yellow cake with strawberry ice cream. I iced with Cool Whip and decorated with chocolate syrup on once side and halved strawberries on the other. It was pretty, easy and impressive and was enough to serve 30 adults. What a party cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flower Mound, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Made this for my daughter's bday party and all the kids thought it was pretty tasty. It was moderately difficult to put together and a bit messy. It definately is a 2 person job. We decorated it with the vanilla icecream and magic shell topping and it looked good, but was very heavy! We also seemed to have too much cake and too little icecream so watch the thickness of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I made this for my son's 3rd birthday party. I had envisioned a round cake, so I baked the entire cake mix in a Demarle silicone mold and, once cooled, sliced it in half. I then used the same silicone mold and pressed the ice cream into it and refroze until it was solid. The beauty of using a silicone mold was that I was able to just flip the solid icecream (while in the mold) on top of the bottom cake half and peel the mold off the ice cream, so the ice cream was already the perfect size/shape for the cake. After putting the other half of the cake on top, I frosted with a mixture of frosting folded into cool whip. It is beautiful!!! Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by talkteachermom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Chocolate cake, Reese's ice cream, cool whip, and Reese's magic shell topping. My children were very pleased, but I still felt like it was, well, just cake with ice cream and cool whip on top. it didn't seem to really become a cohesive something else. I will keep experimenting with the recipe. Oh, also I found the ice cream messy to work with. Softening it left it melty on the outside but too hard to be cut with string on the inside. A sharp knife run under hot water worked better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlantic, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
The only reason I am giving 4 instead of 5 stars is because I had a hard time getting the frosting I used to stick on the cake. This was great! I made it for my son's 9th bday, everyone loved it. I am sure this will be the "birthday reqest" from now on!Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I used my homemade chocolate mix I use for making chocolate pudding.Very Good and I loved the recipe!Rate=5~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I made this recipe but used the circle pans and then frosted it with a cool whip/chocolate pudding/milk mixture that is Heavenly!! Large container of cool whip/large instant choc. pudding and 1 cup milk. Excellent and 5 star with the frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
210 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
easy I cut the ice cream to fit a 9X13 cake. This is handy for birthdays..elimanates having to dish up ice cream during the party. Its all-in- one and people love it. decorate with magic shell..yum....white cake with strawberry ice cream top with cool whip and fresh berries yum..hundreds of different combos..yet so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Compton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I made this for my daughter's birthday. The whole family enjoyed it very much. Much like a store bought ice cream cake. I add crushed oreos on top of the ice cream layer. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States