Ice Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This is much easier to do if you have three 9 inch rounds. Line the bottom of one round with wax paper then fill with 1/2 gallon of ice cream (may need to let ice cream soften a bit first). Cover with saran wrap and put in the freezer. Bake your cake in the other two rounds. Let cool, remove from rounds, line rounds with wax paper and replace cakes, cover and freeze for at least one hour. Then make a big sandwich: cake, ice cream layer (which is easily flipped onto cake - perfect fit), cake. Wrap whole thing in saran wrap and store in freezer until ready to frost. I used the Cool Whip/milk/pudding mix frosting....which I thought was just ok. Next time will try the vanilla ice cream frosting. Put Magic Shell in a medicine dropper to decorate cake - worked GREAT! I put the cake on a flat plate, frosted it, and covered it with a cake dome and kept in the freezer until ready to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
It seemed like it was missing something, so I added crushed oreos in between the layers, and chocolate whipped topping as a kind of frosting, then put more crushed oreos on top. Very easy to make, and a definite hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This was ok. I don't know why I was expecting it to be so much more. It is, after all, simply cake and ice cream. I liked the cookie idea from the "Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake" recipe from this site so I added the cookies around this cake and honestly, they were the best part! It's very simple to make. I make cake rounds and let ice cream soften a bit and then just layer the whole thing in a spring form pan. If you're creative this recipe has potential!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by WannabeBaker
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I modified the recipe a bit and it turned out wonderful! My husband really enjoyed it. I used Betty Crocker white cake with strawberry ice cream. The only problem was the layer of fresh sliced strawberries I placed between the cake and ice cream. I didn't think about what the strawberries would be like frozen. They were hard as rocks! We just ate around them. I also layered strawberry filling, and that tasted great. For the frosting I used Pastry Pride (it's like whipped cream). It all came together nicely. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannabeBaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
I made a french vanilla cake and used strawberry cheesecake ice cream for the filling. Like many others I also used vanilla ice cream in place of frosting - very good. I had to work quickly when using the ice cream to frost with, but the results were worth it. Cake was delicious and had a had a nice presentation. Now that I know how to make this myself, I don't think I will buy a store bought one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Used the idea but made a few changes for ease-sake...I made 2 cakes (each 9X13) and cut both down the middle instead of slicing one cake into two thin halves. I also let the ice cream defrost just a bit and took the advice of the first reviewer and beat it with a mixer to get it soft. I then spread the softened ice cream between both cakes and put the cakes together. I made one side chocolate cake with coffee ice cream and the other yellow cake with strawberry ice cream. I iced with Cool Whip and decorated with chocolate syrup on once side and halved strawberries on the other. It was pretty, easy and impressive and was enough to serve 30 adults. What a party cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flower Mound, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Made this for my daughter's bday party and all the kids thought it was pretty tasty. It was moderately difficult to put together and a bit messy. It definately is a 2 person job. We decorated it with the vanilla icecream and magic shell topping and it looked good, but was very heavy! We also seemed to have too much cake and too little icecream so watch the thickness of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I made this for my son's 3rd birthday party. I had envisioned a round cake, so I baked the entire cake mix in a Demarle silicone mold and, once cooled, sliced it in half. I then used the same silicone mold and pressed the ice cream into it and refroze until it was solid. The beauty of using a silicone mold was that I was able to just flip the solid icecream (while in the mold) on top of the bottom cake half and peel the mold off the ice cream, so the ice cream was already the perfect size/shape for the cake. After putting the other half of the cake on top, I frosted with a mixture of frosting folded into cool whip. It is beautiful!!! Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by talkteachermom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Chocolate cake, Reese's ice cream, cool whip, and Reese's magic shell topping. My children were very pleased, but I still felt like it was, well, just cake with ice cream and cool whip on top. it didn't seem to really become a cohesive something else. I will keep experimenting with the recipe. Oh, also I found the ice cream messy to work with. Softening it left it melty on the outside but too hard to be cut with string on the inside. A sharp knife run under hot water worked better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlantic, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
The only reason I am giving 4 instead of 5 stars is because I had a hard time getting the frosting I used to stick on the cake. This was great! I made it for my son's 9th bday, everyone loved it. I am sure this will be the "birthday reqest" from now on!Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tinaya Kincaid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States