Ice Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
this is truely a easy ice cream cake to make. I used peanut butter ice cream and chocolate cake,just to good for words. Hint...I put my ice cream in the 9 in cake pan lined in plastic wrap and let it freeze for 1 hour and then assembled the cake. I made a layed cake,it was easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I found this cake to be delicious! I had made an ice cream cake before, but these directions seemed very thorough. I did have to read them a few times to understand them. It seems very important for me to bake the cake two days ahead of time. I baked 2 9" rounds. I cooled the cake and removed them from their pans then placed wax paper on the bottom side of the each cake and placed them back into their pans before I popped them into the freezer for a day. I did the wax paper, ice cream, cake, serving platter flip and placed back in freezer. When I pulled it out of the freezer(4 hours later), I frosted it with whipped cream then back into the freezer. I then decorated it with a boiled frosting because the whipped cream frosting would not keep its shape. I then of course popped it back in to the freezer! My guests could not believe this cake was made at home. Everyone loved it and wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MikesGirl
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I made a white cake w/vanilla ice cream & non dairy whipped topping. This is what my husband wanted for his birthday. I used one of the big round containers of ice cream and made 2 different size round cakes and cut the round top off of the larger cake so the ice cream slice would go on it level, the smaller cake matched the size of the ice cream perfect (just had to trim what melted after refreezing). This cake is by no means an easy task. I took the ice cream out of the container onto wax paper, cut it with dental floss and then wrapped it in the wax paper and put it in the freezer overnight, then I put it in between the two cakes and put it back in the freezer for a few hours. Took it back out of the freezer, trimmed the ice cream that had melted and froze. Frosted the cake, froze it a few more hours and then decorated it and froze it until time to serve. You have to work fast with this cake! Mine turned out a bit lopsided and wayyy too thick. Good first attempt though! If I did it again I would only use one cake and cut that in half (or make two much thinner cakes) and attempt to make the ice cream layer thinner. This was a good cake but the biggest complaint was that the cake was so frozen that it was hard to eat. Not sure what the solution to that is because if you don't freeze the cake it would surely melt the ice cream. :/ Gave my husband what he wanted for his birthday! Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MikesGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I made a Gluten Free version using Life Beyond Wheat Chocolate Cake Mix and Vanilla Ice Cream. I frosted it with a can of whipping cream and decorated with crushed Kinnitoos GF oreos. FYI, I found the cake easy to cut after about 2hr cooling. I was even able to make 3 layers of ice cream by cutting the cake in half (using a thin cutting board to remove the top cake layer) and then cutting it again into more of a square shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This was super easy! I just finished making it. I made the cake the night before (I made two 8" rounds) and stuck them in the freezer in the cake pans (after popping them out, cleaning them and putting wax paper in them), then put some semi-softened ice cream in another 8" cake round with wax paper...and put them all in the freezer! the next morning I stacked them together...they look fab! I made chocolate ganache and frosted it, then let it set for a few more hours...and VOILA! The easiest ice cream cake ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
i used a 9 inch spring form pan. everyone in my house is on diets so i made a devils food cake mix with applesauce and egg whites. i also used fat free vanilla ice cream. i cut the cake in half and put ice cream in the middle. make sure the cake is chilled before u apply the ice cream!let the cake and ice cream sandwhich set in the freezer for around an hour. for frosting a used a 8 oz cool whip free, white chocolate pudding mix, 1/4 confectioners suger and a cup of milk beat together. first beat the pudding milk and sugar and then cut in slightly thawed cool whip. make sure to spread it on the cake quickly and put the cake back in the freezer for a couple of hours before you serve. i didnt even cover it in the freezer cuz it had the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This is much easier to do if you have three 9 inch rounds. Line the bottom of one round with wax paper then fill with 1/2 gallon of ice cream (may need to let ice cream soften a bit first). Cover with saran wrap and put in the freezer. Bake your cake in the other two rounds. Let cool, remove from rounds, line rounds with wax paper and replace cakes, cover and freeze for at least one hour. Then make a big sandwich: cake, ice cream layer (which is easily flipped onto cake - perfect fit), cake. Wrap whole thing in saran wrap and store in freezer until ready to frost. I used the Cool Whip/milk/pudding mix frosting....which I thought was just ok. Next time will try the vanilla ice cream frosting. Put Magic Shell in a medicine dropper to decorate cake - worked GREAT! I put the cake on a flat plate, frosted it, and covered it with a cake dome and kept in the freezer until ready to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
It seemed like it was missing something, so I added crushed oreos in between the layers, and chocolate whipped topping as a kind of frosting, then put more crushed oreos on top. Very easy to make, and a definite hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This was ok. I don't know why I was expecting it to be so much more. It is, after all, simply cake and ice cream. I liked the cookie idea from the "Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake" recipe from this site so I added the cookies around this cake and honestly, they were the best part! It's very simple to make. I make cake rounds and let ice cream soften a bit and then just layer the whole thing in a spring form pan. If you're creative this recipe has potential!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by WannabeBaker
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I modified the recipe a bit and it turned out wonderful! My husband really enjoyed it. I used Betty Crocker white cake with strawberry ice cream. The only problem was the layer of fresh sliced strawberries I placed between the cake and ice cream. I didn't think about what the strawberries would be like frozen. They were hard as rocks! We just ate around them. I also layered strawberry filling, and that tasted great. For the frosting I used Pastry Pride (it's like whipped cream). It all came together nicely. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannabeBaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States