Ice Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
this cake sounds so easy to make and it is but one problem is you didnt tell us how to take the cake out of the pan with out braking it cause every time i try to take cake out of a pan it just falls apart i just wasted a good peice of cake. But other wise it is so easy you should make a christmas style ice cream cake and post it to your pictures. cause i need to see an example of a christmas stle ic cream cake cause i am hosting are christmas party this year !!!!!!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweettooth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This was such an easy cake to make, I didn't think it would be simple. I surprised my boyfriend with his favorite dessert for his birthday. Now all my friends are putting in orders!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kupkake38
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Great recipe! Didn't follow it exactly, I used 3 round 9" pans and just cut the ice cream into thin sections and layered it on! Quick and easy. I also used the ice cream for the frosting like another user posted, delicious! Put Snickers candy on the top and drizzled chocolate and caramel over it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Great idea, though I added a little "flair." First, I made two 9x13 layers of cake (marble cake). After freezing the cakes, I coated each layer of cake with an inch or so of chocolate fudge and then sprinkled a generous layer of heath/ toffee bits before laying down the layer of ice cream (fudge ripple). I figured the layer of fudge would add to the flavor, but also seal the cake from getting soggy (from the ice cream.) And the crunchy toffee bits would add some texture and decadence! I stuck it back in the freezer and trimmed as directed, and then frosted it with a mixture of whipped topping and whipped vanilla frosting. I coated the edges/ sides with more toffee bits and mini chocolate chips and it turned out beautiful! Definitely recommend making this a day ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole Ramirez-Nazzal
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I wanted to have an ice cream cake for my son's birthday, and baskin robins was so expensive, so I gave this recipe a try. the cake came out so good and pretty. I used a 9x13 pan for the cake. and followed the directions with the ice cream. I found that I need more ice cream than what it called for. I used 2 boxes of ice cream, so all of the cake was covered liberally. I didn't want to cut the cake to fit the ice cream. then I frosted it with cool whip, lined the edges with gum balls and rainbow sprinkles. then wrote in the middle of the cake with decorating iceing from the baking isle. I came so good. love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Ramirez-Nazzal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Thank you for the wonderful recipe and all the useful tips! I made this for my nephew and it was a huge hit! I baked and split a 9x13 Devil's food cake and filled it with one and a half boxes of Chapman's Chocolate Ripple Icecream - the boxes work very well - I simply opened up the whole box, sliced the icecream block in half and put the slabs on the cake. I used ganache for the top but it wouldn't stick very well to the icecream on the side so I pressed oreo crumbs on the sides - messy but it worked better than the ganach. This was my first icecream cake - it opens up so many possibilities!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I added a jar of fudge ice cream topping in the layers and then made homemade fudge frosting for the top! Such a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
i love cooking, but i have to know something different, i don't want to use ovens for baking. i just want a cake that made me easy to make from my owned without using ovens, just a freezer instead so i try this and it made me very proud!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jhudz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovecakes
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
It was easy and tasted great!!!!! A big hit with the family. This was saved me so much $$$. It was much cheaper than buying it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovecakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by summer
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
this was my first and probably my last ice cream cake. It was much more difficult to assemble than it says in the recipe. I used two eight inch cake pans the ice cream fits perfectly between and had problems with the top sliding. Had to secure it until it was completely frozen and then trim the sides to match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by summer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilburton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States