Ice Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Great idea, though I added a little "flair." First, I made two 9x13 layers of cake (marble cake). After freezing the cakes, I coated each layer of cake with an inch or so of chocolate fudge and then sprinkled a generous layer of heath/ toffee bits before laying down the layer of ice cream (fudge ripple). I figured the layer of fudge would add to the flavor, but also seal the cake from getting soggy (from the ice cream.) And the crunchy toffee bits would add some texture and decadence! I stuck it back in the freezer and trimmed as directed, and then frosted it with a mixture of whipped topping and whipped vanilla frosting. I coated the edges/ sides with more toffee bits and mini chocolate chips and it turned out beautiful! Definitely recommend making this a day ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nicole
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I wanted to have an ice cream cake for my son's birthday, and baskin robins was so expensive, so I gave this recipe a try. the cake came out so good and pretty. I used a 9x13 pan for the cake. and followed the directions with the ice cream. I found that I need more ice cream than what it called for. I used 2 boxes of ice cream, so all of the cake was covered liberally. I didn't want to cut the cake to fit the ice cream. then I frosted it with cool whip, lined the edges with gum balls and rainbow sprinkles. then wrote in the middle of the cake with decorating iceing from the baking isle. I came so good. love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Thank you for the wonderful recipe and all the useful tips! I made this for my nephew and it was a huge hit! I baked and split a 9x13 Devil's food cake and filled it with one and a half boxes of Chapman's Chocolate Ripple Icecream - the boxes work very well - I simply opened up the whole box, sliced the icecream block in half and put the slabs on the cake. I used ganache for the top but it wouldn't stick very well to the icecream on the side so I pressed oreo crumbs on the sides - messy but it worked better than the ganach. This was my first icecream cake - it opens up so many possibilities!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I added a jar of fudge ice cream topping in the layers and then made homemade fudge frosting for the top! Such a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
i love cooking, but i have to know something different, i don't want to use ovens for baking. i just want a cake that made me easy to make from my owned without using ovens, just a freezer instead so i try this and it made me very proud!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jhudz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovecakes
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
It was easy and tasted great!!!!! A big hit with the family. This was saved me so much $$$. It was much cheaper than buying it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovecakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by summer
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
this was my first and probably my last ice cream cake. It was much more difficult to assemble than it says in the recipe. I used two eight inch cake pans the ice cream fits perfectly between and had problems with the top sliding. Had to secure it until it was completely frozen and then trim the sides to match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by summer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilburton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Pathetic how easy this recipe is; but takes a long time since you have to freeze the cake at every step. I had no mess like some and used the vanilla ice cream (IC) for icing as LAMRO said. I did not follow the time to freeze, but did this. Bought IC day before/put in the freezer to firm up well. Made cake in the morning, put in fridge until home from work. Removed cake and carton of IC, used IC (still in box) as a template to cut cake sides and quickly put IC back in freezer. Also, used a knife to cut the top off the cake to make it perfectly flat, then put cut cake in freezer so IC would not melt into cake when I put it on later. An hour later, took IC and cut in half with a knife and placed it on the cake;back in the freezer. (took a few seconds; NO MESS) An hour later, grabbed blender, threw vanilla ice cream in, then pulled cake from freezer, frosted top, then sides. Do quickly; IC melts in blender but when you put it on the frozen cake, it firms it up; quite easy to frost, just be quick. Put back in freezer. An hour later, made butter cream frosting for decorations, then removed cake to frost. Do quickly and put in freezer in between pauses/changing out tips, etc. $7 vs. a $35 Baskin Robins cake and it looks just like it/tastes great, but fun to make! Feeds 8-16 people depending if you use half or whole carton of IC. I used half/1layer of cake; seems to match Baskin Robins small size. I found it best to leave finished cake to set overnight. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
$4 Ice Cream Cake! This was so simple and inexpensive to make. It does take 2 days though. I bought yellow cake batter and used 3 --9 in cake pans. Bake 2--9 in. cakes according to directions, cool then freeze. Then in the 3rd cake pan take any ice cream you want and microwave it until soft, approx. 90 seconds. Once softened scoop the ice cream into the 3rd cake pan and freeze. The second day remove the cakes from the pans. Place one cake, flat side up, then place the ice cream in the middle and finish with the other cake on top and there you have it an ice cream cake! I used wax paper when i froze the cakes and ice cream. Finish the cake with frosting and refreeze if you are not going to use it right away. I will take it out 2 hours or so before the party! Enjoy. Thanks for the tips:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
this is truely a easy ice cream cake to make. I used peanut butter ice cream and chocolate cake,just to good for words. Hint...I put my ice cream in the 9 in cake pan lined in plastic wrap and let it freeze for 1 hour and then assembled the cake. I made a layed cake,it was easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States