Ice Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Even easier, The day before baking the cake let your ice cream soften enough to spread it into 2 plastic lined cake pans. Put them into freezer to refreeze. Once frozen pop them out and wrap tightly with plastic as you will need your pans to bake your cakes. Once cooled simply plop the ice cream layers out and layer with your cakes. I also add frosting to mine to decorate but I refreeze the whole cake to do this so both the cake and ice cream are firm. Refreeze after each application. Making your roses ahead of time makes this go quicker as well. Another idea is to use vanilla or yellow cake mix and top with fresh berries, & whipped cream. You can keep the ice cream layers handy in the freezer wrapped tightly in plastic wrap. It makes for a quick dessert anytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I have been making my own ice cream cakes for a couple of years now. I find it easier to use round cake pans for the layers the day before. The day I am assembling the cake I set ice cream on counter for about 10 minutes to soften, then spread about one quarter of a gallon into one of the round cake pans on top of waxed paper. Put ice cream (in pan) in freezer to freeze again. I prepare a homemade chocolate ganache to ice the cake with- very rich, so I do not use chocolate ice cream. Devils food is our favorite so far for the cake. I've used cookies and cream, peanut butter cup, and mint chocolate chip for the ice cream. I suppose you really could use any combination of your favorite cake and ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Yum and easy!!! I used 3 9 inch cake pans, 2 for the cake and 1 for ice cream. I lined the bottom of the cake pans with waxed paper and the bottom of the ice cream pan with Saran wrap. Super easy! I did make a big mistake, kind of dumb, and had to redo.. Did not cool the cake enough before layering in ice cream. The cakes weren't hot but weren't room temp either apparently and I figured if I got them in the freezer quick enough all would be well...no... A lot of the ice cream melted into the cake and I tossed the whole thing :( So I quickly remade everything and froze all 3 pans overnite. Assembled in the morning, Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Made this over the Memorial Day weekend for a family birthday. Great suggestion by jcook45 to assemble & freeze this in a 9" springform pan! Being pressed for time, I did not freeze the first cake layer and that seemed to work out fine. I spread very soft ice cream on the layer (after placing it in the pan), then topped it with the other cake layer. I only used 1/2 of a 1/2 gallon of ice cream. My cake was a strawberry mix with French vanilla ice cream and I topped it with Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting from this site, decorated with sliced fresh strawberries (of which next time I will only make 1/2 batch of the frosting). My future changes will be: using 1/2 of a cake mix or a full brownie mix between (2) 9" cake pans. The full mix made the cake much too thick and even if I would have used 1/2 gallon of ice cream in the middle...much too much! Thinner cake / brownie layers would be better with 1/2 of a 1/2 gallon of ice cream. A flavor that I plan to try is orange cake mix w/Franch vanilla ice cream, the cream cheese frosting and mix in well drained crushed pinapple and top with mandarin oranges. If you leave out the pineapple, it would probably taste like a Dreamsickle!! I think a brownie mix with the vanilla and some hot fudge / cherries on top would be great, too...lots of options with this, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
There is a much easier way to do this. Bake 2 9inch cakes and put 1 in the bottom of a springform pan, place in the freezer and freeze for 2 hours. Allow your ice cream to melt almost all the way, then pour over the frozen cake, and push down to fit into the pan. Add your other cake layer and freeze again. When frozen completely, around 3-4 hours, remove from the springform pan to frost. I like to use a whipped cream cheese frosting with this. Let it thaw for around 20 min to serve, and use your dental floss at this point. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcook45

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I have saved so much money over the years making this type of cake for birthdays! I used the round cake pan method also and lined them with plastic wrap and then put softened ice cream in so it was the same shape as the cake. After assembling and freezing, I then covered it all with thawed Cool Whip returning to the freezer until serving time. I suggest you take the cake out of the freezer for at least 15 minutes before trying to slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alannakaye
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This recipe was incredibly easy other than frosting the cake - I had difficulty getting the butter cream frosting I used to stick to the ice cream parts, so my frosting job was a little wonky. I made a round cake, so as my two rounds were cooling, I put the ice cream into one of the round and stuck it back in the freezer. Due to a lack of forward-thinking, I did not use any waxed paper in the pan to make removal easy, which resulted in bringing my hair dryer into the kitchen to warm the pan enough to let the ice cream drop on top of the cake. It worked well-enough, but next time I will use some waxed paper. :) In the end, while I was a little bummed about the decorating (like I said, the frosting was a pain), everyone RAVED about how great it tasted. I will never buy an ice cream cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alannakaye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
i haven't actually made the cake yet, but 5 stars so far because i love ice cream cake! i'm going to make this cake tonight for my niece's bday tomorrow. i read from the reviews that a lot of people used 9-in round pans, which i'm planning on doing and added the ice cream by slathering it on the cake. i found a tip on another site which i think is very helpful with using round pans. take another 9-in pan and line it with wax paper and pack the ice cream in there. freeze it overnight (4 hours at least) and then flip it over on the prepared cake and top with the other layer of cake. ooh, and i just thought of this myself...if you want to do two thinner layers of ice cream, use the same 9-in pan. line the bottom with wax paper, fill it half way with ice cream and do another layer of wax paper which hangs over the pan's sides and fill the rest of the pan with ice cream. i just came up with this so i haven't tried it before, but after you're done freezing the ice cream in the pan and before you dump the first layer of ice cream onto the cake, hold the wax paper taut so the other layer of ice cream stays in the pan. sorry if it doesn't work!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RanjaBuns
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I made this cake, the only diffrence was I baked the cake in 2 9'inch rounds, then I let the ice cream get a little soft then froze the icecream in a 9'inch round pan with plastic wrap, then placed the frozen ice cream between the 2 cakes then frosted the whole thing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yolieA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States