Ice Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This is not as easy as it looks! The recipe is not really thorough enough. It would be helpful to know that this cake needs to be frozen over night! It tasted fine but I made this cake for guests and used a box chocolate cake. I didn't have a 9x13 pan but I also wanted to layer the cake and ice cream so I used 2 loaf pans and spit the cake batter in 1/2. Then, I used a large slice of the ice cream to place between the cakes. THat part was great. THe ice cream was frozen fine but when I went to ice it about 2 hours later (after being in the freezer), the ice cream was mushy. I still managed to ice it ok thinking it would freeze solid soon, but, in another 2 hours when I cut into it, it was still mushy. The next morning, the remainer of the cake frozen perfectly. My freezer isn't abnormally warm or anything. So, the moral of this story is: make the cake a day ahead of time and freeze it overnight!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyBegins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I haven't made this as yet but, (duh) how much easier then the Newly Wed Cake I have been making for years, where you make cake in a jelly roll pan, put ice cream over it and roll it! I will make this from now on!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keota, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Fun recipe to make for the kids. I use a cookie shaped silicone pan x2 to make my son's Ice Cream Cake for his birthday, since it's what he wanted. Having done that I'd do this again, in a heart beat. Simple, fun and you can use any form of cake and ice cream combo you soo desire. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I made this cake with the help of other reviewers! I made only one cake part because I wanted it to be just like a Baskin Robbins cake. I did what ScoobieMama said and it worked great! I lined a 9 inch round cake pan with plastic wrap then added softened ice cream to the lined pan. I put it in the freezer overnight and it was VERY easy to remove. Then I made the boxed cake mix in the same 9 inch round pan. Let it cool in the fridge to make sure its totally cooled. Then I assembled the 2 pieces and frosted it with whipped topping. I covered it with a plastic cake dome and placed it back in the freezer til it was ready to serve, which was 3 days later! It was just like the cake I buy from Baskin Robbins, but it was 1/3 the price! I will always make my own ice-cream cakes from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I was a cake decorator for Baskin Robbins and this is exactly how they did it! The only thing I would add is a great frosting that is really yummy is plain old vanilla Ice cream. Freeze the cake overnight in your freezer and then take a quart of vanilla ice cream - mix it up in your mixer until it is a smooth frosting consistency and then frost your cake - put it back in the freezer for 4 hours or until frozen again and then decorate! You can even go to Baskin Robbins and ask to purchase a quart of their vanilla frosting ice cream - it is completely white with no yellow in it. HTH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I made 2 nine inch round cakes. When removed from their pans to cool, I lined one of the cleaned cake pans with plastic wrap and filled it with the ice cream we were going to use with the cake. After letting it harden in the freezer, it was easy to remove from the pan with the plastic wrap. I assembled the perfectly shaped layers with no problem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This cake is great, but recipe needs some added detail. After you make the cake and cut it, freeze it, then layer in the ice cream, freeze again, then frost. Also, the cake is not attractive without frosting so it is an essential final step. I used the cool whip frosting recipe as suggested by others and this turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
The only thing that would make it better is less cake and more ice cream (each layer equal in height). I made the cake in round pans and the next time I will make 6 cup cakes and the remainder for the ice cream cake. I want to find a great frosting for the cake as I made the pudding, milk, cool whip frosting and did not like it at all! Will be making again as it is much cheaper than buying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Even easier, The day before baking the cake let your ice cream soften enough to spread it into 2 plastic lined cake pans. Put them into freezer to refreeze. Once frozen pop them out and wrap tightly with plastic as you will need your pans to bake your cakes. Once cooled simply plop the ice cream layers out and layer with your cakes. I also add frosting to mine to decorate but I refreeze the whole cake to do this so both the cake and ice cream are firm. Refreeze after each application. Making your roses ahead of time makes this go quicker as well. Another idea is to use vanilla or yellow cake mix and top with fresh berries, & whipped cream. You can keep the ice cream layers handy in the freezer wrapped tightly in plastic wrap. It makes for a quick dessert anytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States