Ice Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2015
I have been doing this for decades. I always frost the ice cream cake with whatever frosting that seems appropriate. Any flavor of cake can be used with whatever ice cream that "floats your boat," along with an appropriate frosting. Just freeze the ice cream cake really hard before applying the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dinner Date

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2015
I have made a version of this cake for years. When the cake is cooled cut it in half then cut each half in half. Cut the ice cream in three pieces length wise, they will be the same size as the cake pieces. Layer cake, ice cream, cake, etc. end with cake. Frost with any flavor large pudding made with one cup of milk and mixed with 8 oz carton of.cool whip. Freeze until ready to use. So many flavor combinations it never gets boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eleanor Germanotta
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
It was successful but it is very time consuming. I thought it was easy but it can be a bit messy. It's worth it for the special people in your life. I did what others said, I put the chocolate cake in the freezer to harden it up. Tasted amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eleanor Germanotta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
This cake was soo good and easy to make, will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Home baker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Great 5star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aleah wehr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Added more sugar according to the other suggestions and it came out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
this recipe was the best cake recipe i've ever found! I used chocolate and mint ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I made this for a birthday and am not a regular cook by any means. This was so easy and the vanilla ice cream frosting tastes just like BR. It did take almost an entire half gallon of vanilla ice cream and it would have been easier if I let it sit for a few minutes first, I used it straight out of the freezer. I made the cake a day ahead, then melted the ice cream by letting it sit out for a hour or so and poured it in the same pan and froze that for a day on wax paper. Put it together, frosted it and put back in the freezer for a day, voila! $3.50 ice cream cake, now if I can just find the icing it will be exactly the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Holt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jillk
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This was the easiest cake I've ever made! I took the tip of freezing the cake part over the night before we needed it. Worked great. I added mint chocolate Aero bar bits to the top! Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I made this recipe for my brothers birthday party. It was good and very simple. I used neapolitan ice cream and decorated it with whipped cream, Smarties and gum balls. I think that this recipe would be a good recipe to experiment different flavours of ice cream and decorations etc. I will definitely experiment more next time. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States