Ice Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Great 5star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aleah wehr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Added more sugar according to the other suggestions and it came out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
this recipe was the best cake recipe i've ever found! I used chocolate and mint ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I made this for a birthday and am not a regular cook by any means. This was so easy and the vanilla ice cream frosting tastes just like BR. It did take almost an entire half gallon of vanilla ice cream and it would have been easier if I let it sit for a few minutes first, I used it straight out of the freezer. I made the cake a day ahead, then melted the ice cream by letting it sit out for a hour or so and poured it in the same pan and froze that for a day on wax paper. Put it together, frosted it and put back in the freezer for a day, voila! $3.50 ice cream cake, now if I can just find the icing it will be exactly the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Holt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jillk
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This was the easiest cake I've ever made! I took the tip of freezing the cake part over the night before we needed it. Worked great. I added mint chocolate Aero bar bits to the top! Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I made this recipe for my brothers birthday party. It was good and very simple. I used neapolitan ice cream and decorated it with whipped cream, Smarties and gum balls. I think that this recipe would be a good recipe to experiment different flavours of ice cream and decorations etc. I will definitely experiment more next time. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
This was a good starting point recipe. I made a devil's food cake mix in 2 round pans. The day before baking the cake, I filled the same cake pans (lined with plastic wrap) with softened chocolate oreo ice cream and froze them. The day after I baked the cakes I put an ice cream layer on top of each cake layer, for 2 separate cakes, wrapped them in plastic and put back in the freezer until serving time. I frosted each cake with cool whip and put rainbow sprinkles on top just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I made an ice cream cake for Thanksgiving and it was such a hit that I had to do it again for Christmas. I went a little further than these basics though. I took my half gallon of ice cream and pressed it into a 9" round pan that was lined with plastic wrap and refroze it over night. I also baked a Funfetti cake and froze that overnight. When assembling, I used a spring form pan and used crushed oreos and dark chocolate hot fudge in between the cake and ice cream. I also used cool whip and cherries for the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
wasnt hard at all, loved it, but i did get a bit of a problem getting the icecream container, next time im buying chapmens bowed icecream works alot better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Good basic recipe. Had fun with it and also took another reviewers advice and made a choc pudding/whip cream/milk topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States