Ice Cream Base Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
It took a couple of tries to get it right, I think I was overcooking it & most of liquid was evaporating, but it is good if you have time & want really good creamy ice cream!! I prefer this over the refrigerate recipes any day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
YUMMMM! Once you try this, store bought will never be the same. I made this exactly as specified and added 1 TBSP pure vanilla extract as suggested to make vanilla. It was my very first time making ice cream and it was a huge success if I do say so myself. This amount fit perfectly in a 2Qt. Cuisinart ice cream maker, and the final product all fits great in a 1.5 litre container. Thank you so much for posting, this is frozen dessert perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stouffville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cannington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This was my first time making homemade ice cream. I got an attachment to my kitchen-aid and I used this base. The end result was delicious but super filling. My family loved the ice cream. I put a table spoon of vanilla in and it tasted great. My only complaint was that it took a while for the mixture to thicken while I heated it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Churns out smooth, luxurious and creamy every time, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
All I have to say is MAKE THIS!!!!!!It's incredible!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This came out amazing! So creamy and perfect. I added a 1/4 cup of cocoa and a 1/4 cup of Starbucks mocha powder. I then added a tsp of vanilla. After the ice cream was in the ice cream maker for 20-25 minutes, I added mini marshmallows and bunny grahams. My whole family loved it! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Excellent ice cream base for any flavor! Made it with strawberries and also with dark chocolate. Both came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I absolutely loved this. My husband, not so much. However, I believe this is more because he didn't grow up with homemade ice cream. For those of us that did, you can't beat this recipe. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This had very good flavor. I didn't give it 5 stars because I changed it a bit - instead of 1 cup sugar, I used 1/2 cup sugar and a small box of vanill pudding. I also added a Tbsp of vanilla. It cooked up great - hardest part was not eating it as it cooled. Added some crushed oreos as it mixed in the ice cream maker. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Made exactly as written, turned out great. Did not have an ice cream maker, used the plastic bag method and then froze for a day to have firm custard. Also added fresh black raspberry puree to a portion to get a different flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States