Ice Cream Base Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Perfect ice cream base, easy to make and very creamy with the perfect touch of sweetness. I recommend that the base be chilled overnight so that it cools down completely before putting it in the ice cream maker. As a result, it reaches the soft serve level in about 25 minutes! I highly recommend this recipe--perfect for novice and expert ice cream makers alike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Worked very well and receptive to additional flavoring and ingredients such as fruit, nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I loved this recipe. I added vanilla and Manila Mangos. Very yummy. The icecream has a great texture and is very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Newcastle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
PERFECT. We added real vanilla bean to the mixture (scraped and dropped in the pod, then strained the pod out). So delicious. Thanks! We tried this trying to figure out what to use our yolks for after we bake an angel food cake - this will be on our list for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALIEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Very good! I was in a hurry to go somewhere, so I didn't quite let the mixture heat to the point that it was coating the back of the spoon, but as it cooled it thickened up very nicely. I also added about 1 tablespoon of vanilla. The only thing I wasn't sure about was if I was supposed to add additional milk when I put it in the ice cream freezer. I didn't and it probably made about a 1 1/2 quarts (used a 2 quart freezer). My husband is not a huge homemade ice cream fan, but he loved this! And since it doesn't make a whole lot, it is perfect for the two of us and another couple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Hertel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pearl, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This is amazing and SO delicious. I substituted 1 cup 1 percent milk for 1 cup of the half-and-half and it still was creamy and very rich. I flavored it with 1/2 cup cocoa powder. I may reduce the cocoa powder next time, but other than that, it was perfect! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
First time to ever make my own ice cream - best ice cream I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This is a phenomenal base recipe! Be warned if you change the servings it doesn't update the salt amount. We loved this recipe before it got in the fridge! The warm base itself was so good!! I don't know if it either of these flubs helped but we didn't put the vanilla in till after we turned off the heat. And dear Hubs keep stirring for ten minutes after that cause I read the recipe wrong. To rush the recipe to use the same day we put the warm base in a flat rectangular plastic storage container and put it in the deep freeze for about 2 hours. It didn't freeze solid during that time. In the ice cream maker it froze relatively quickly and was so so so good!! The texture is so smooth and creamy like no homemade I cream I've ever had before!! I can't wait to play with this recipe some more and try new flavors, this is definitely a keeper and I will refer everyone I know to this recipe! And better yet at 12 serving I have enough egg whites to make an angel food cake too! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This is the best homemade ice cream base I've eaten. Followed the recipe exactly. I liked the sweetness of the full cup of sugar, and for flavor, I used 1 tbsp vanilla extract and 1/2 tbsp almond extract. (The almond paired nicely with a peach dessert! However, it was strong on the almond flavor - could add only a tsp or to taste.) I think I have a larger ice cream freezer - we easily could have doubled this recipe, but it is true to the stated yield of 8 servings. I just like BIG servings! Can't wait to try it with crushed up Butterfinger candy bars mixed in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Hadley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Thickens easily. You can make it whatever you want. One of my favorites is: Baileys amaretto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States