Ice Cream Base Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I absolutely loved this. My husband, not so much. However, I believe this is more because he didn't grow up with homemade ice cream. For those of us that did, you can't beat this recipe. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This had very good flavor. I didn't give it 5 stars because I changed it a bit - instead of 1 cup sugar, I used 1/2 cup sugar and a small box of vanill pudding. I also added a Tbsp of vanilla. It cooked up great - hardest part was not eating it as it cooled. Added some crushed oreos as it mixed in the ice cream maker. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Made exactly as written, turned out great. Did not have an ice cream maker, used the plastic bag method and then froze for a day to have firm custard. Also added fresh black raspberry puree to a portion to get a different flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This is so good and very easy. I added some milk chocolate chips and about 1/2 cup cocoa powder. I can't wait to make it again with the flavors that I want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Easy and yummy. We made this last week and the base custard is outstanding! Instead of using regular half & half, I used non-fat half & half and added 2 cups of pureed peaches -- yummy peach ice cream! We're up for chocolate this week and I think I use 1 cup of non-fat milk, 2 cups of non-fat half & half as well as 1 cup of heavy cream. BTW, this recipe (8 servings) is 2 batches in the Cusinart ice cream machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Thickens easily. You can make it whatever you want. One of my favorites is: Baileys amaretto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This is the best homemade ice cream base I've eaten. Followed the recipe exactly. I liked the sweetness of the full cup of sugar, and for flavor, I used 1 tbsp vanilla extract and 1/2 tbsp almond extract. (The almond paired nicely with a peach dessert! However, it was strong on the almond flavor - could add only a tsp or to taste.) I think I have a larger ice cream freezer - we easily could have doubled this recipe, but it is true to the stated yield of 8 servings. I just like BIG servings! Can't wait to try it with crushed up Butterfinger candy bars mixed in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Hadley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This is a phenomenal base recipe! Be warned if you change the servings it doesn't update the salt amount. We loved this recipe before it got in the fridge! The warm base itself was so good!! I don't know if it either of these flubs helped but we didn't put the vanilla in till after we turned off the heat. And dear Hubs keep stirring for ten minutes after that cause I read the recipe wrong. To rush the recipe to use the same day we put the warm base in a flat rectangular plastic storage container and put it in the deep freeze for about 2 hours. It didn't freeze solid during that time. In the ice cream maker it froze relatively quickly and was so so so good!! The texture is so smooth and creamy like no homemade I cream I've ever had before!! I can't wait to play with this recipe some more and try new flavors, this is definitely a keeper and I will refer everyone I know to this recipe! And better yet at 12 serving I have enough egg whites to make an angel food cake too! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
First time to ever make my own ice cream - best ice cream I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This is amazing and SO delicious. I substituted 1 cup 1 percent milk for 1 cup of the half-and-half and it still was creamy and very rich. I flavored it with 1/2 cup cocoa powder. I may reduce the cocoa powder next time, but other than that, it was perfect! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States