Ice Cream Base Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This is amazing!!! Very creamy and dangerous because I have to keep reminding myself not to have more then I should. It's a sin!!! It was my first time making ice cream and I'm so happy that I found the right recipe otherwise I might not have succeeded. Thank you so much for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phillos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I halved the recipe and used all half and half instead of heavy cream and half and half. The recipe came out delish!! I also added chocolate, bananas and oreos, so yummy! I do think there is a touch too much sugar in the recipe but it was still fantastic. Thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Fantastic base for just about any type of ice cream you would like to make. I followed anther reviewers advised and added marachino cherries. I did have a slight problem in that once I had added all that base, the additional liquid in the cherries overflowed and made a mess but that did not hurt the flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This was incredible. It set up so quickly and was very creamy-no ice crystals like some of the uncooked versions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flygirl22

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I just made this Ice Cream Base and it was easy and looks very velvety-creamy! I will update when I decide if I'm adding a flavor/fruit. So far so good! I added fresh, macerated strawberries. I put finished product into a container and froze it. When I was ready to try it, I was surprised to find it was not too hard (like store bought) to scoop! It was perfect and creamy! The only adjustment I made was 1 Tablespoon of Pure Vanilla. I made this today again July 23, 2012 and made it vanilla with shaved dark and milk chocolate. I also put in 1/2 C. Corn syrup with the egg yolks and sugar n salt. It helped keep it creamier as it froze solid with no type of ice crystals. MMM very good! This is the best "base" recipe and will recommend this to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandollar1970

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Los Lunas, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and it was heaven. I like the custard best before freezing. But I did save some of the custard to make ice cream and added 1 1/2 ripe banana during the freezing process. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I swapped out the cream and half and half with coconut milk- just the cream from the top part of the can- I did 2 cups, 4 eggs, added 3/4 cocoa powder and additional sugar- I used a bit of the coconut water in the bottom of the can to liquify the eggs/cocoa more- despite all those tweaks- it turned out great! Oh and added a couple teaspoons vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
SO GOOD!!! And easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Perfect the first time using vanilla. Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
This is the BEST ice cream I have tried on allrecipes! It is smooth, creamy and the vanilla version tastes like creme brulee! Even before I froze it the consistency was like that of super rich vanilla pudding. In the freezer it doesn't freeze super solid but stays scoopable. This it the only recipe I will use for ice cream from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States