Ice Cream Base Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
One tip for those making custard, cooked ice cream bases. Before you cook up the base, make sure you have a hand held strainer propped up on the bowl in which you are going to pour your cooked base. It prevents accidentally scrambled eggs from becoming part of your ice cream. This recipe is rich and delicious. Try adding a little banana extract...wowza!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORIA LEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Creamy! My favorite ice cream recipe now. I used 1/2 heavy cream and 1/2 half and half for extra creaminess. WOW!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
My husband says we're never buying store-bought ice cream again! I think that's a pretty big compliment! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I never tried making ice cream before but have chickens and pheasants so have plenty of eggs. Use twice the amount of pheasant egg yolks since they are smaller. Added 2 teaspoons of vanilla and then used the "no machine" method. It worked great and tasted better. We started making it at about 1p in the afternoon and it was ready by 7p for dessert after dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Okay, it's been just about two hours since I put this delicious bundle in the freezer and I just snuck a few bites. Wow!! This is the best ice cream I've ever made! This base is wonderful. I added butterscotch fudge and chocolate fudge pieces a few minutes before I was done mixing. (The clostest recipe I've found to mine is Aunt Teen's Fudge Recipe on this site... obviously, for the butterscotch, I just substitute the chocolate chips for 3C of butterscotch chips.) Admittedly, I added a lot and the concoction was nearly spilling out of my kitchenaid! :) But the small mess was oh so worth it!!!!! Thank you Autumn Pumpkin for posting this custard ice cream base! My tummy is SO happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I made this last weekend. It sounded like the one my Uncle Joe use to make and it tasted like it too. I was go happy with it. Next time I am adding bananas and pecans. I can't wait. Easy to do and was so great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Perfect . I cooked the cream and half & half to 160 degrees. Then I added it to the yokes as specified and cooked it all to 160 degrees. Followed the recipe to make vanilla and it turned out great. Tastes a lot like a famous ice cream in Texas, only better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This is amazing!!! Very creamy and dangerous because I have to keep reminding myself not to have more then I should. It's a sin!!! It was my first time making ice cream and I'm so happy that I found the right recipe otherwise I might not have succeeded. Thank you so much for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phillos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I halved the recipe and used all half and half instead of heavy cream and half and half. The recipe came out delish!! I also added chocolate, bananas and oreos, so yummy! I do think there is a touch too much sugar in the recipe but it was still fantastic. Thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Fantastic base for just about any type of ice cream you would like to make. I followed anther reviewers advised and added marachino cherries. I did have a slight problem in that once I had added all that base, the additional liquid in the cherries overflowed and made a mess but that did not hurt the flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States