Ice Cream Base Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This is a delicious, classic ice cream. It's incredibly creamy - heavenly on a hot, steamy, summer day. I used a scant 1/2 cup of dark cocoa powder and it was the perfect chocolate ice cream. I plan on making this again very soon with strawberries and blackberries as both are going wild right now! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Wish I could give this recipe 4.5 stars since you probably don't need the full cup of sugar if you're going to stir in a sweet addition. I only used 3/4 cup sugar and added a 10 oz jar of chopped maraschino cherries and its syrup and thought the recipe came out really rich and nicely sweetened. I also added 1/3 cup slivered almonds for a cherry nut ice cream. It was yummy and I'll definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumner, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I used this to make mint chip ice cream. I increased the servings to 12 because I had 12 egg yolks left from an angel food cake. I added 1 tsp. peppermint extract and 1 tsp. vanilla extract. I added one cup of chocolate chips but it could use more. Everyone loved it. I've just started making ice cream this summer. This is the best recipe I've found - very creamy, smooth and versatile. Exactly what I wanted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I haven't even frozen this yet, but I have to give it 5 stars. I was drawn to this recipe because of its simple solution to the problem with adding the egg to the warm cream. Other recipes intimidated me because of so many reviewers stating that they got little chunks of egg that they had to strain out. I really had no desire to deal with that. I'm not entirely confident that the egg yolks are thoroughly cooked, but I'm not one to be picky about that either. I did taste the warm mix before putting it in the fridge and it's fantastic! I flavored it with 1 teaspoon of vanilla and 2 tablespoons of instant coffee. It has a slightly strong coffee flavor, I would recommend just a tablespoon and a half for anyone new to the world of coffee ice cream. I plan to add Heath bars for the final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustinaKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
This has a wonderful flavor. I tripled the batch since we had a surplus of eggs. I didn't use heavy cream and half-and-half. Instead, I used non-seperated, fresh milk. Figured that would work just fine. I added vanilla after it was thickened. Since I tripled the recipe, I had 4 quarts of base. I used 2 quarts in the ice cream freezer. Here's where I had issues. I ran out of ice cubes and decided (again) to use snow. It just didn't work. The ice cream never got to that creamy, frozen, soft serve stage. It was getting fluffy, but very grainy. Froze it anyway. It has GREAT flavor. Very creamy flavor!!!! I can see using this for a variety of add-ins. I gave it only 4 stars because, while I'm sure the graininess is due to me using the snow, I'll know absolutely when I freeze the other 2 quarts, using ice cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Worked very well and receptive to additional flavoring and ingredients such as fruit, nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Perfect ice cream base, easy to make and very creamy with the perfect touch of sweetness. I recommend that the base be chilled overnight so that it cools down completely before putting it in the ice cream maker. As a result, it reaches the soft serve level in about 25 minutes! I highly recommend this recipe--perfect for novice and expert ice cream makers alike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I loved this recipe. I added vanilla and Manila Mangos. Very yummy. The icecream has a great texture and is very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Newcastle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
PERFECT. We added real vanilla bean to the mixture (scraped and dropped in the pod, then strained the pod out). So delicious. Thanks! We tried this trying to figure out what to use our yolks for after we bake an angel food cake - this will be on our list for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALIEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Very good! I was in a hurry to go somewhere, so I didn't quite let the mixture heat to the point that it was coating the back of the spoon, but as it cooled it thickened up very nicely. I also added about 1 tablespoon of vanilla. The only thing I wasn't sure about was if I was supposed to add additional milk when I put it in the ice cream freezer. I didn't and it probably made about a 1 1/2 quarts (used a 2 quart freezer). My husband is not a huge homemade ice cream fan, but he loved this! And since it doesn't make a whole lot, it is perfect for the two of us and another couple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Hertel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pearl, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Brandon, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States