Ice Box Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I grew up in Mobile, AL, and this was a yearly treat Mother prepared this time of year--over 40 years ago. She is no longer with us, but this recipe made me smile. The only difference (other than omitting the raisins) was that she rolled it into a log in foil and sliced it into small circles. Thanks so much for the memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
So simple and tastes wonderful! I didn't find one person who didn't like it - even the kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla White Moody

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
My grandmother made one every year, only she did not add raisons or pecans- only walnuts. She did add sliced fruit flavored gum drops, candied pineapple and sweetened coconut. Her version of this cake converted many die-hard fruitcake haters. She accidentally bought the spiced gum drops one year and that was a little weird tasting. HaHa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RHETTDIXIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
PHENIX CITY, ALABAMA. THIS CAKE WAS PREPARED BY MY MOTHER EVERY YEAR FOR CHIRSTMAS. IT'S VERY RICH AND A SMALL PIECE IS MORE THAN PLENTY. SHE GOT THE RECIPE FROM MY GRANDMOTHER. THE ONLY DIFFERENCE BEING THAT MAMA MADE IT WITH FRESH GRATED COCONUT. TRY IT WITH THE COCONUT, YOU WONT BE DISAPPOINTED. FRANKIE STRINGFELLOW
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
My grandmother also makes this and we live in AL. Her recipe is slightly different, however, in that she uses a box of graham crackers instead of the vanilla wafers. She also uses a quart of pecans, and adds a bag of mini marshmallows. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairhope, Alabama, USA
Living In: Daphne, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
My family had this every year at Christmas. We made it with graham crackers, pecans, coconut and maraschino cherries. Wonderful!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
This was a staple every Christmas where I grew up on the coast of North and South Carolinas. Now living in Atlanta, GA, no one here has ever heard of it. The taste is devine and when I eat it I suddenly become five years old again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
This is simply delicious and quite versatile. Other substitutions and/or additions that you might want to consider are dried cranberries, candy orange slices, and red and green cherries to make it look festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Russellville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
I am from NC and this is very similar to my grandmother's recipe--she used graham cracker crumbs instead of vanilla wafers and added lots of spices: cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, cloves. Now my mom makes it every year at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fuquay Varina, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
this is a most wonderfully delicious cake. my mother made this cake every year at christmas. i am glad i finally found this recipe because when she died the recipe was lost. my mother used graham cracker crumbs instead of vanilla wafers then used the graham cracker box to form cake, she placed 2 layers of wax paper on bottom, top and sides of box. she formed the cake in the box and then refrigerated for 4 to 5 days. to serve she peeled away the box and cut into 2x2x1/2 inch squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States