Ice Box Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
My grandmother also makes this and we live in AL. Her recipe is slightly different, however, in that she uses a box of graham crackers instead of the vanilla wafers. She also uses a quart of pecans, and adds a bag of mini marshmallows. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairhope, Alabama, USA
Living In: Daphne, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
PHENIX CITY, ALABAMA. THIS CAKE WAS PREPARED BY MY MOTHER EVERY YEAR FOR CHIRSTMAS. IT'S VERY RICH AND A SMALL PIECE IS MORE THAN PLENTY. SHE GOT THE RECIPE FROM MY GRANDMOTHER. THE ONLY DIFFERENCE BEING THAT MAMA MADE IT WITH FRESH GRATED COCONUT. TRY IT WITH THE COCONUT, YOU WONT BE DISAPPOINTED. FRANKIE STRINGFELLOW
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
I have been looking for this recipe for awhile.I had a friend who used to make this every year for holiday gifts and I loved it.I am from the south,depending on where you are from,this recipe made it down south.It is a great alternitive to the boring old fruit cakes we are used to.I am so glad I have it now,I'll pass this one on to my children.By the way my friend was like 70 when she made this,haven't seen her for almost10 years,I hope she's still here.Thanks , xxxSullyswytchxxx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Haven't tried this particular recipe, but just reading it brought back memories of being in the kitchen with my Mother(from the south..North Carolina) as she made this fruitcake. She put all of the ingredients through a hand grinder that she would attach to the kitchen bar. She used graham crackers rather than vanilla wafers. She lined the empty graham cracker box with waxed paper and then packed the fruitcake into the box and stored the box in the refrigerator. She put halved cherries and pecan halves on the top to make it look pretty. Rich, but very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
This is simply delicious and quite versatile. Other substitutions and/or additions that you might want to consider are dried cranberries, candy orange slices, and red and green cherries to make it look festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Russellville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
I am from NC and this is very similar to my grandmother's recipe--she used graham cracker crumbs instead of vanilla wafers and added lots of spices: cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, cloves. Now my mom makes it every year at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fuquay Varina, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I grew up in Mobile, AL, and this was a yearly treat Mother prepared this time of year--over 40 years ago. She is no longer with us, but this recipe made me smile. The only difference (other than omitting the raisins) was that she rolled it into a log in foil and sliced it into small circles. Thanks so much for the memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2001
It may be a regional thing--I'm from Louisiana and a lot of people made it down there. Now I live in North Carolina and no one seems to know what it is. I'd been looking for this recipe for awhile, so thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
My grandmother made one every year, only she did not add raisons or pecans- only walnuts. She did add sliced fruit flavored gum drops, candied pineapple and sweetened coconut. Her version of this cake converted many die-hard fruitcake haters. She accidentally bought the spiced gum drops one year and that was a little weird tasting. HaHa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RHETTDIXIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
I thought this was delicious. I am from North Carolina and my Grandmother has been making this for as long as I can remember. I have been looking for this recipe. My Grandmother always made it by memory, so we never actually had a recipe written down on paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States