Ice Box Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
My Grandmother always made this! (NC/SC) She used Graham crackers and all the mixed fruits you put in fruit cake with pecans and cherries. She said you had to make it on Thanksgiving and put it in a wax paper lined loaf pan, then and put it in the freezer until Christmas! My Aunt made it for our family Christmas party and it was sooo good! She said Grandma got it long long ago from a pet milk can. If my Grandma was still alive she'd be over 90. I have also seen a recipe with marshmallow, but she never put those in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I am from SC, and this recipe was handed from my great, great grandmother. I just made it for my uncle for Thanksgiving, and he teared up as he thought the recipe had been lost. He had not had one since my grandmother stopped hosting Christmas. It does seem to be a deep South regional recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This is the recipe that my mother made for years when we were children and we loved it.I lost it,now we can all enjoy it again.This is a favorite of the folks around Baton Rouge and New Orleans..Thank You Mary Morris
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Grove, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Awesome! I am from South Georgia and my Nana has made this as long as I can remember...now I make it every year! It just isn't Christmastime without it. YOu are right though, most people have never heard of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I have tried to find this recipe. and I keep losing it. My ex-sister-in-law made this for years for us. I do not count her as my ex I love her to death. I can't remeber which said their family had used the marshmellows, and the one that said but it in the box that the gramcrackers came out of lined with the wax paper or tin foil but you'll have brought back so many memories for me this beautiful God given morning. Merry Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moss Point, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This is just like my dad made every year at christmas when i was a child.he also added coconut and golden raisin instead of the black ones.very good, but very rich .a small piece will be enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I made this cake last night. I used 1 box of vanilla wafers put thru the food processor. Then added a bag of walnuts and a container of candied fruit used for fruit cakes. I placed the cherries on top for decoration. Now to wait a whole week. If the cake taste like the dough, it will be great. Can't wait!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Haven't tried this particular recipe, but just reading it brought back memories of being in the kitchen with my Mother(from the south..North Carolina) as she made this fruitcake. She put all of the ingredients through a hand grinder that she would attach to the kitchen bar. She used graham crackers rather than vanilla wafers. She lined the empty graham cracker box with waxed paper and then packed the fruitcake into the box and stored the box in the refrigerator. She put halved cherries and pecan halves on the top to make it look pretty. Rich, but very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I grew up in Mobile, AL, and this was a yearly treat Mother prepared this time of year--over 40 years ago. She is no longer with us, but this recipe made me smile. The only difference (other than omitting the raisins) was that she rolled it into a log in foil and sliced it into small circles. Thanks so much for the memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
My Mama used to make this every year for Christmas, she added marshmallow cream and dates to her fruitcake. I think she got her recipe from a UPC Church Cookbook from somewhere in Louisiana in the '50's but I don't have a copy of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States