Ice Box Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I am from Alabama, and my Mom made this for us every Christmas. She would add coconut and only pecans, sometimes she would use green cherries and red cherries. I love this thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaof4boyz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Middleburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I ate this as a small child. Know one I have asked has ever heard of it so, after finding your receipe I made it and everyone LOVES it. I now know what alot of my distant friends will be getting for christmas. Thanks to elaine Harper annd allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyce
Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Laconia, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I am so glad you posted this...it is easy to make and so delicious! My Granny Carrie used to make this all the time and it was one of my favorite desserts she made at Christmas...except for choclolate balls! Thank you again Elaine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peapod9398

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamston, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This will be at our Christmas meal again this year. I had a much more complicated recipe I used until I found this one. Perfect amount! Thanks Elaine. I am a Florida native.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
sounds good. i used to make a similar one using crumbled white cake and 7 minute frosting as the base. it called for nuts and light colored fruits including hite raisins. called it a white fruit cake. also refrigerate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marcie Killian
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Super sweet and good but it's almost too rich. I'd make it again. I threw some currants in because I had them and it was a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcie Killian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This must be a Southern thing. I am from Georgia and my mom made it and her mom made it. We have a few variations. One, we use a LOT of nuts (pecans are our preference) and not much fruit. We use the candied fruit. Also, we use graham crackers, but I may try the sugar free vanilla wafers. We have also used Marshmallow cream instead of sweetened condensed milk. Both work equally well. We always make them the week after Thanksgiving and keep in the fridge until Christmas time. It seems to be better when it has time for the flavors to mix. We usually wrap one large cake for Christmas and then the rest we wrap in individual rolls.about the size of a pound of sausage. This keeps a long time in the fridge. We always make at least double this recipe. This is the only fruitcake I will eat and I have converted many people that "hated" fruitcake to asking for this every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
My Grandmother always made this! (NC/SC) She used Graham crackers and all the mixed fruits you put in fruit cake with pecans and cherries. She said you had to make it on Thanksgiving and put it in a wax paper lined loaf pan, then and put it in the freezer until Christmas! My Aunt made it for our family Christmas party and it was sooo good! She said Grandma got it long long ago from a pet milk can. If my Grandma was still alive she'd be over 90. I have also seen a recipe with marshmallow, but she never put those in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I am from SC, and this recipe was handed from my great, great grandmother. I just made it for my uncle for Thanksgiving, and he teared up as he thought the recipe had been lost. He had not had one since my grandmother stopped hosting Christmas. It does seem to be a deep South regional recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This is the recipe that my mother made for years when we were children and we loved it.I lost it,now we can all enjoy it again.This is a favorite of the folks around Baton Rouge and New Orleans..Thank You Mary Morris
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Grove, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States