Ice Box Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I really want to like this recipe as-is for all the great ingredients & unique preparation (relative to my usual Christmas cookie baking), but it fell flat for me & my family at Christmas. Waiting all that time for the cake to "age" and unwrapping all the layers of foil & saran wrap was anticlimatic to see that beige blob in the dish. Family members had to be cajoled to give it try and the reviews were mixed from a "mmm - better than I thought it would be" to "blah." Being a sweet-tooth, I thought the cake tasted pretty good, and would describe the taste & texture as glorified cookie dough. If I were to use this recipe again, I would take it one more step by cutting the cake into bite-sized pieces and dipping them into chocolate in order to hide the beige coloring. I probably wouldn't keep the word "fruitcake" in the recipe title either... when I said the name of this recipe people wrinkled their noses before the first layer of foil was pulled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Thank you for posting the recipe. When I grew up my whole Family worked together sitting around the kitchen table to make this recipe. I tell my husband how we had fun laughing and joking. I want to do this with my Family but did not have the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I had never heard of this cake until I married my husband, this was a must for Christmas in his family. I have been making it for 34 years now. I do it a little different, I put a cup coconut , and melt mini marshmallows and add a can of evaporated milk to it. That takes the place of the condensed milk. It is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I am from Alabama, and my Mom made this for us every Christmas. She would add coconut and only pecans, sometimes she would use green cherries and red cherries. I love this thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaof4boyz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Middleburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I ate this as a small child. Know one I have asked has ever heard of it so, after finding your receipe I made it and everyone LOVES it. I now know what alot of my distant friends will be getting for christmas. Thanks to elaine Harper annd allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyce
Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Laconia, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I am so glad you posted this...it is easy to make and so delicious! My Granny Carrie used to make this all the time and it was one of my favorite desserts she made at Christmas...except for choclolate balls! Thank you again Elaine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peapod9398

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamston, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This will be at our Christmas meal again this year. I had a much more complicated recipe I used until I found this one. Perfect amount! Thanks Elaine. I am a Florida native.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
sounds good. i used to make a similar one using crumbled white cake and 7 minute frosting as the base. it called for nuts and light colored fruits including hite raisins. called it a white fruit cake. also refrigerate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marcie Killian Connally
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Super sweet and good but it's almost too rich. I'd make it again. I threw some currants in because I had them and it was a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcie Killian Connally

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This must be a Southern thing. I am from Georgia and my mom made it and her mom made it. We have a few variations. One, we use a LOT of nuts (pecans are our preference) and not much fruit. We use the candied fruit. Also, we use graham crackers, but I may try the sugar free vanilla wafers. We have also used Marshmallow cream instead of sweetened condensed milk. Both work equally well. We always make them the week after Thanksgiving and keep in the fridge until Christmas time. It seems to be better when it has time for the flavors to mix. We usually wrap one large cake for Christmas and then the rest we wrap in individual rolls.about the size of a pound of sausage. This keeps a long time in the fridge. We always make at least double this recipe. This is the only fruitcake I will eat and I have converted many people that "hated" fruitcake to asking for this every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States