Ice Box Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Yes love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I have looked for this recipe for years. It was on the graham cracker box and the vanilla wafer box in the late 1960's. The company's sold and I have never been able to find recipe again. Have seen others but not this one. Is great. Thank you for posting. - Cindy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I haven looking for this recipe for years! My mom made this every Christmas. She would pack it back in the wax bag the wafers were in and back in the box so it was easy to slice in thin slices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catvoci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I have wanted this recipe for years. A small store near home use to make it for sale. They used graham crackers crushed. And I think they added dates. Thanks for posting this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandie Barnett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pillager, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Thank you for this recipe! I've been looking for it for many years. My mother made this at Christmastime and it was delicious. She pressed it into a 13x9" Pyrex dish & covered with foil. This brings back such fond memories growing up in North Alabama.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I make this cake every year I grew up in South Alabama . I agree it must be a Southern recipe. My family has made it for as long as anyone can remember. There are different versions of it in the family.My Mom used candied cherries,candied pineapple ,fresh coconut,raisins, vanilla wafers,& condensed milk. Oh so very rich and tasty !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I am from Georgia, and my granny used to make this and know body had the recipe. While visiting in Georgia my aunt gave me the ingredients that were wrote down many many years ago, but that's all. No directions....I am so happy to find this, it has every ingredient that's on that paper I have.....God Bless you and thank you for sharing...I love you and will fill my granny alittle bit closer now!Kay Dean
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
We didn’t like it and found the consistency way too mushy and mealy. The longer it sat to blend the flavors, the mushier and mealier it became. It didn’t slice nicely to present to guests. Not a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
My family has made Ice Box Fruit Cake for years with graham crackers. The kids always enjoy crushing the gram crackers in a pillow case. People always say " I don't like fruit cake" This taste different than "Fruitcake" Everyone loves this one. I am trying it with vanilla wafers this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I have been looking for this recipe for a few years now. My mom would always make this cake for Christmas and everyone loved it so much. A lot of people do not like fruit cake, but this one got them hooked. It may be a regional recipe, I'm from Mississippi and friends here in Louisiana have never heard of this cake. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States