Ice Box Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
I have been looking for this recipe for awhile.I had a friend who used to make this every year for holiday gifts and I loved it.I am from the south,depending on where you are from,this recipe made it down south.It is a great alternitive to the boring old fruit cakes we are used to.I am so glad I have it now,I'll pass this one on to my children.By the way my friend was like 70 when she made this,haven't seen her for almost10 years,I hope she's still here.Thanks , xxxSullyswytchxxx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2001
It may be a regional thing--I'm from Louisiana and a lot of people made it down there. Now I live in North Carolina and no one seems to know what it is. I'd been looking for this recipe for awhile, so thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
I thought this was delicious. I am from North Carolina and my Grandmother has been making this for as long as I can remember. I have been looking for this recipe. My Grandmother always made it by memory, so we never actually had a recipe written down on paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
PHENIX CITY, ALABAMA. THIS CAKE WAS PREPARED BY MY MOTHER EVERY YEAR FOR CHIRSTMAS. IT'S VERY RICH AND A SMALL PIECE IS MORE THAN PLENTY. SHE GOT THE RECIPE FROM MY GRANDMOTHER. THE ONLY DIFFERENCE BEING THAT MAMA MADE IT WITH FRESH GRATED COCONUT. TRY IT WITH THE COCONUT, YOU WONT BE DISAPPOINTED. FRANKIE STRINGFELLOW
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
So simple and tastes wonderful! I didn't find one person who didn't like it - even the kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla White Moody

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
My grandmother also makes this and we live in AL. Her recipe is slightly different, however, in that she uses a box of graham crackers instead of the vanilla wafers. She also uses a quart of pecans, and adds a bag of mini marshmallows. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairhope, Alabama, USA
Living In: Daphne, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
My family had this every year at Christmas. We made it with graham crackers, pecans, coconut and maraschino cherries. Wonderful!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
This was a staple every Christmas where I grew up on the coast of North and South Carolinas. Now living in Atlanta, GA, no one here has ever heard of it. The taste is devine and when I eat it I suddenly become five years old again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
My grandmother made one every year, only she did not add raisons or pecans- only walnuts. She did add sliced fruit flavored gum drops, candied pineapple and sweetened coconut. Her version of this cake converted many die-hard fruitcake haters. She accidentally bought the spiced gum drops one year and that was a little weird tasting. HaHa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RHETTDIXIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
This is simply delicious and quite versatile. Other substitutions and/or additions that you might want to consider are dried cranberries, candy orange slices, and red and green cherries to make it look festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Russellville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States